I'm arguing with someone about the stackability of magic items that are the same (in this case, two Boots of Speed or two Gloves of Thievery), they say that they can be because they aren't under a specific ability and thus aren't bound by the combining game effects rule.
I'm arguing with someone about the stackability of magic items that are the same (in this case, two Boots of Speed or two Gloves of Thievery), they say that they can be because they aren't under a specific ability and thus aren't bound by the combining game effects rule.
I'm just going to copy/paste a line from your rule link: "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items."
Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.
Magic Items may not be an "ability", but they are absolutely a "game feature".
Two items of the same [name] type do not stack.
Also, a player can't [normally*] wear multiple sets of gloves or boots. Boots of Speed are a pair of boots, which means both must be worn together. While a Centaur does indeed have an additional set of legs, they have hooves, not feet, so allowing them to use magical boots at all would technically be DM generosity. There are currently no 4-handed playable official races. However, if there were a 4-handed race, or a means of obtaining an additional set of hands long enough to attune another set of gloves, then the DM would point to the rule above and say "This is a game, not a simulator. There doesn't need to be a logical explanation."
Edit: Partially Ninja'd by Saga
* As pointed out below, a DM is capable of making exceptions.
Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.
Magic Items may not be an "ability", but they are absolutely a "game feature".
Two items of the same type do not stack....
Imprecise language leads to incorrect rulings. Wrong.
Two items, spells, effects, features, etc... of the same namedo not stack. When you start saying that "types" don't stack, you're saying something quite a bit broader than the DMG and PHB actually provide.
If you had a "Glove of Awesome" and a "Glove of Awesomeness" and both gave you +1 to your Dexterity score, then you would have a stacked +2 to your Dexterity score, because they each have different names. There's no prohibition on stacking items that are of "glove" type, or "+1 Dexterity" type, or anything else, only on stacking items with the same name.
The only exception to this is what the DMG says about "use common sense" to decide how many you can wear:
Multiple Items of the Same Kind
Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn. A character can’t normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of headwear, and one cloak. You can make exceptions; a character might be able to wear a circlet under a helmet, for example, or be able to layer two cloaks.
That rule isn't really saying there's anything that would prevent you from wearing two separate one-glove magic gloves, but rather that... a person can't wear two pairs of gloves over the top of each other, usually.
Imprecise language leads to incorrect rulings. Wrong.
Two items, spells, effects, features, etc... of the same namedo not stack. When you start saying that "types" don't stack, you're saying something quite a bit broader than the DMG and PHB actually provide.
My language was directly referential to the precise wording of the rule, which was included in the same post. It is common in English to use a generalized term following the establishment of a specific, as in the case of a proper noun (John Doe) followed by a pronoun (he/she/they). Anything less than computer language with pre-defined libraries is going to have some level of ambiguity; I was opting to respect the reading comprehension of the OP.
Edit: I updated the previous post to minimize further confusion.
Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.
Magic Items may not be an "ability", but they are absolutely a "game feature".
Two items of the same type do not stack....
Imprecise language leads to incorrect rulings. Wrong.
Two items, spells, effects, features, etc... of the same namedo not stack. When you start saying that "types" don't stack, you're saying something quite a bit broader than the DMG and PHB actually provide.
If you had a "Glove of Awesome" and a "Glove of Awesomeness" and both gave you +1 to your Dexterity score, then you would have a stacked +2 to your Dexterity score, because they each have different names. There's no prohibition on stacking items that are of "glove" type, or "+1 Dexterity" type, or anything else, only on stacking items with the same name.
The only exception to this is what the DMG says about "use common sense" to decide how many you can wear:
Multiple Items of the Same Kind
Use common sense to determine whether more than one of a given kind of magic item can be worn. A character can’t normally wear more than one pair of footwear, one pair of gloves or gauntlets, one pair of bracers, one suit of armor, one item of headwear, and one cloak. You can make exceptions; a character might be able to wear a circlet under a helmet, for example, or be able to layer two cloaks.
That rule isn't really saying there's anything that would prevent you from wearing two separate one-glove magic gloves, but rather that... a person can't wear two pairs of gloves over the top of each other, usually.
I agree with the general thrust of your post, but there is a rule that says you don't get any benefit if you only wear one glove, and it's right after that bit:
Paired Items
Items that come in pairs—such as boots, bracers, gauntlets, and gloves—impart their benefits only if both items of the pair are worn. For example, a character wearing a boot of striding and springing on one foot and a boot of elvenkind on the other foot gains no benefit from either item.
I agree with the general thrust of your post, but there is a rule that says you don't get any benefit if you only wear one glove, and it's right after that bit:
Paired Items
Items that come in pairs—such as boots, bracers, gauntlets, and gloves—impart their benefits only if both items of the pair are worn. For example, a character wearing a boot of striding and springing on one foot and a boot of elvenkind on the other foot gains no benefit from either item.
No, that says that you don't get the benefit of wearing only one half of a magical item that is a pair of objects. There is no rule that a magic glove cannot be a single glove, only that if the item is gloves, one glove won't do.
I can't find it, but I know there's at least one item out there that's a single gauntlet instead of a pair of gauntlets... search function is failing me right now. :/
Ah... here we go, Bracer of Flying Daggers. Bracers may generally come as paired items, but this one is just one single Bracer, and would be able to be worn alongside another single Bracer of a different name.
I agree with the general thrust of your post, but there is a rule that says you don't get any benefit if you only wear one glove, and it's right after that bit:
Paired Items
Items that come in pairs—such as boots, bracers, gauntlets, and gloves—impart their benefits only if both items of the pair are worn. For example, a character wearing a boot of striding and springing on one foot and a boot of elvenkind on the other foot gains no benefit from either item.
No, that says that you don't get the benefit of wearing only one half of a magical item that is a pair of objects. There is no rule that a magic glove cannot be a single glove, only that if the item is gloves, one glove won't do.
I can't find it, but I know there's at least one item out there that's a single gauntlet instead of a pair of gauntlets... search function is failing me right now. :/
I don't think we're actually saying different things here. If a specific magic glove is only one glove, then great! No problem there. The general rule is that gloves come in pairs, and if you only wear one half of a pair, you get nothing.
I agree with, "if you only wear one half of a pair, you get nothing," but still think that talking about a "general rule about gloves" is an invitation to future errors. A glove doesn't need to specifically tell you that you can get its benefits solo, as an exception to a general rule about gloves. It just needs to be printed as "glove of..." instead of "gloves of...."
Abandon thinking about "types" entirely, it's unhelpful.
I'm arguing with someone about the stackability of magic items that are the same (in this case, two Boots of Speed or two Gloves of Thievery), they say that they can be because they aren't under a specific ability and thus aren't bound by the combining game effects rule.
Opposing point: https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/off-topic/adohands-kitchen/82476-fanatics-come-fight-here-20th-level-gladiator?comment=10632
Rule link: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/running-the-game#CombiningGameEffects
ni! (that's a link, click it).
I like spell points.
Please ignore my old homebrew, and for the love of every god out there don't use it.
I (used to, it's kinda dead now) participate in the Level 20 Gladiator Arena with a nameless hero (actually I think I deleted him, whoops).
I found this on the internet:
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwiKmr62tszvAhVDVK0KHZx8BSkQFjADegQICBAD&url=https://www.enworld.org/threads/two-magical-items-that-give-pluses-to-ac-stack.607994/&usg=AOvVaw3f-pSxdlI2ZaHja35VbSvN
they/her Always open to chat. Just send me a PM
Whatever it takes
Yeah, take me to the top
I'm ready for whatever it takes
'Cause I love the adrenaline in my veins
I do what it takes
As long as they are not the same item, they can stack.
That's what I'm arguing, to be clear. Although maybe I should make that clearer in the first post.
ni! (that's a link, click it).
I like spell points.
Please ignore my old homebrew, and for the love of every god out there don't use it.
I (used to, it's kinda dead now) participate in the Level 20 Gladiator Arena with a nameless hero (actually I think I deleted him, whoops).
I'm just going to copy/paste a line from your rule link: "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items."
There's not any rules ambiguity here.
Magic Items may not be an "ability", but they are absolutely a "game feature".
Two items of the same [name]
typedo not stack.Also, a player can't [normally*] wear multiple sets of gloves or boots. Boots of Speed are a pair of boots, which means both must be worn together. While a Centaur does indeed have an additional set of legs, they have hooves, not feet, so allowing them to use magical boots at all would technically be DM generosity. There are currently no 4-handed playable official races. However, if there were a 4-handed race, or a means of obtaining an additional set of hands long enough to attune another set of gloves, then the DM would point to the rule above and say "This is a game, not a simulator. There doesn't need to be a logical explanation."
Edit: Partially Ninja'd by Saga
* As pointed out below, a DM is capable of making exceptions.
Imprecise language leads to incorrect rulings. Wrong.
Two items, spells, effects, features, etc... of the same name do not stack. When you start saying that "types" don't stack, you're saying something quite a bit broader than the DMG and PHB actually provide.
If you had a "Glove of Awesome" and a "Glove of Awesomeness" and both gave you +1 to your Dexterity score, then you would have a stacked +2 to your Dexterity score, because they each have different names. There's no prohibition on stacking items that are of "glove" type, or "+1 Dexterity" type, or anything else, only on stacking items with the same name.
The only exception to this is what the DMG says about "use common sense" to decide how many you can wear:
That rule isn't really saying there's anything that would prevent you from wearing two separate one-glove magic gloves, but rather that... a person can't wear two pairs of gloves over the top of each other, usually.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
My language was directly referential to the precise wording of the rule, which was included in the same post. It is common in English to use a generalized term following the establishment of a specific, as in the case of a proper noun (John Doe) followed by a pronoun (he/she/they). Anything less than computer language with pre-defined libraries is going to have some level of ambiguity; I was opting to respect the reading comprehension of the OP.
Edit: I updated the previous post to minimize further confusion.
I agree with the general thrust of your post, but there is a rule that says you don't get any benefit if you only wear one glove, and it's right after that bit:
No, that says that you don't get the benefit of wearing only one half of a magical item that is a pair of objects. There is no rule that a magic glove cannot be a single glove, only that if the item is gloves, one glove won't do.
I can't find it, but I know there's at least one item out there that's a single gauntlet instead of a pair of gauntlets... search function is failing me right now. :/
Ah... here we go, Bracer of Flying Daggers. Bracers may generally come as paired items, but this one is just one single Bracer, and would be able to be worn alongside another single Bracer of a different name.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I don't think we're actually saying different things here. If a specific magic glove is only one glove, then great! No problem there. The general rule is that gloves come in pairs, and if you only wear one half of a pair, you get nothing.
I agree with, "if you only wear one half of a pair, you get nothing," but still think that talking about a "general rule about gloves" is an invitation to future errors. A glove doesn't need to specifically tell you that you can get its benefits solo, as an exception to a general rule about gloves. It just needs to be printed as "glove of..." instead of "gloves of...."
Abandon thinking about "types" entirely, it's unhelpful.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Non-Sequitur: I like the idea of wearing two different eye patches and having advantage on perception checks.
You have won this entire conversation.
So true, this is beautiful.
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet
My homebrew - Adohand’s Kitchen - Off-Topic - D&D Beyond Forums - D&D Beyond (dndbeyond.com)
Knight of random