This happened in a recent session, and was resolved then, yet I am curious to see what you guys think! Thanks!
My wild magic sorcerer wild magic surged, and rolled a 15-16. Here's what it does.
15–16
For the next minute, you regain 5 hit points at the start of each of your turns.
My character then dropped to 0 hit points, and failed two death saving throws before the start of his next turn. Then at the start of his turn, which would happen first, would he roll the 3rd death saving throw, possibly spelling his doom, or regain 5 hitpoints, bringing him back up without needing to roll the death saving throw? The rules for a death saving throw are as follows.
Whenever you start your turn with 0 hit points, you must make a special saving throw, called a death saving throw, to determine whether you creep closer to death or hang onto life. Unlike other saving throws, this one isn't tied to any ability score. You are in the hands of fate now, aided only by spells and features that improve your chances of succeeding on a saving throw.
Both say start, but which starts first? Does the death saving throw using the wording of "must" factor in? Thank you!
D&D 5e doesn't have a standardized order of operations for simultaneous effects and there are a few threads discussing a few variations of this problem.
The common accepted ruling is that whoever's turn it is decides. But I don't know if this is written anywhere.
D&D 5e doesn't have a standardized order of operations for simultaneous effects and there are a few threads discussing a few variations of this problem.
The common accepted ruling is that whoever's turn it is decides. But I don't know if this is written anywhere.
D&D 5e doesn't have a standardized order of operations for simultaneous effects and there are a few threads discussing a few variations of this problem.
The common accepted ruling is that whoever's turn it is decides. But I don't know if this is written anywhere.
This happened in a recent session, and was resolved then, yet I am curious to see what you guys think! Thanks!
My wild magic sorcerer wild magic surged, and rolled a 15-16. Here's what it does.
My character then dropped to 0 hit points, and failed two death saving throws before the start of his next turn. Then at the start of his turn, which would happen first, would he roll the 3rd death saving throw, possibly spelling his doom, or regain 5 hitpoints, bringing him back up without needing to roll the death saving throw? The rules for a death saving throw are as follows.
Both say start, but which starts first? Does the death saving throw using the wording of "must" factor in? Thank you!
When players get creative.
D&D 5e doesn't have a standardized order of operations for simultaneous effects and there are a few threads discussing a few variations of this problem.
The common accepted ruling is that whoever's turn it is decides. But I don't know if this is written anywhere.
It's written in Xanathar's Guide to Everything.
Well there you go.
Thanks Saga.