So, while thinking about a Character, I stumbled upon a Combination.
at LVL 7, the Vengeance Paladin acquires
"Relentless Avenger"
By 7th level, your supernatural focus helps you close off a foe's retreat. When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, you can move up to half your speed immediately after the attack and as part of the same reaction. This movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks.
so, as a Human fighter or 8th LVL when you acquire 2 feats or multiclassing into Fighter, you can Acquire the (UA) Fighting style
"Tunnel Fighter (UA). As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5 feet while within your reach."
and the Feat
"Polearm Master
You can keep your enemies at bay with reach weapons. You gain the following benefits:
When you take the Attack action and attack with only a glaive, halberd, or quarterstaff, you can use a bonus action to make a melee attack with the opposite end of the weapon. This attack uses the same ability modifier as the primary attack. The weapon’s damage die for this attack is a d4, and it deals bludgeoning damage.
While you are wielding a glaive, halberd, pike, or quarterstaff, other creatures provoke an opportunity attack from you when they enter your reach."
my Question is as Follows.
wielding a Polearm, let's say a Glaive, and an enemy steps into my Reach. I will gain an Opportunity attack against them and move half my Movement if I Hit.
if, after I move, another Creature is Now within my Pole arm's reach. do I now get another free Opportunity attack?
due to the wording, it doesn't specify when the target moves into my reach or willing, just that it has entered my reach.
and by extension, so long as I don't miss, can this effectively strike down a group of opponents?
The creature didn't enter your reach, you moved closer to the creature. Not even remotely the same.
Yep. Plus also, things like this is why the Tunnel Fighter style has not been made official despite existing for years. Anything that gives you an attack without using up any Action/Bonus/Reaction is just guaranteed to find itself in some sort of exploitable loop.
What they said. Here is the rule for opportunity attacks (which polearms still follow):
You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.
The way I understand Opportunity Attacks is basically you can get one if the opponent is fleeing from you or running around/past you. If the movement is generated by them, you get the opportunity attack, but because their location is a result of your movement - you would not. Which is basically what the previous poster is saying.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, while thinking about a Character, I stumbled upon a Combination.
at LVL 7, the Vengeance Paladin acquires
"Relentless Avenger"
By 7th level, your supernatural focus helps you close off a foe's retreat. When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, you can move up to half your speed immediately after the attack and as part of the same reaction. This movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks.
so, as a Human fighter or 8th LVL when you acquire 2 feats or multiclassing into Fighter, you can Acquire the (UA) Fighting style
"Tunnel Fighter (UA). As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5 feet while within your reach."
and the Feat
"Polearm Master
You can keep your enemies at bay with reach weapons. You gain the following benefits:
my Question is as Follows.
wielding a Polearm, let's say a Glaive, and an enemy steps into my Reach. I will gain an Opportunity attack against them and move half my Movement if I Hit.
if, after I move, another Creature is Now within my Pole arm's reach. do I now get another free Opportunity attack?
due to the wording, it doesn't specify when the target moves into my reach or willing, just that it has entered my reach.
and by extension, so long as I don't miss, can this effectively strike down a group of opponents?
The creature didn't enter your reach, you moved closer to the creature. Not even remotely the same.
Yep. Plus also, things like this is why the Tunnel Fighter style has not been made official despite existing for years. Anything that gives you an attack without using up any Action/Bonus/Reaction is just guaranteed to find itself in some sort of exploitable loop.
What they said. Here is the rule for opportunity attacks (which polearms still follow):
The way I understand Opportunity Attacks is basically you can get one if the opponent is fleeing from you or running around/past you. If the movement is generated by them, you get the opportunity attack, but because their location is a result of your movement - you would not. Which is basically what the previous poster is saying.