It would, yes. Apart from the Spellcasting ability modifier and associated attack bonus/save DC of the original caster, the spell is treated exactly the same as if the wielder had cast it, so they would still have to use their concentration.
It still takes concentration, but it takes concentration of the wielder, not the caster. Giving the ring to someone not usually concentrating (like a monk or a fighter) to get two concentration spells up at once is a common tactic.
Yes. You (the wearer) are casting the stored spell following all normal rules other than what is specifically changed (using original caster's spellcasting modifier, etc).
Incorrect - the concentration is performed when spell is cast into the ring - ie a 1 minute spell would take 1 minute to add to ring. If u stopped concentrating at the 30 second mark then when the ring is used to cast the spell it would last only 30 seconds.
No it is correct. Per Dungeon Master Guide, Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item and uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. For the Ring of spell storing specifically, it makes no exception to duration and you're treated as if you cast the spell.
Spell: Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell’s effects with their usual duration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell.
Ring of Spell Storing: While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Asking for a friend...
It would, yes. Apart from the Spellcasting ability modifier and associated attack bonus/save DC of the original caster, the spell is treated exactly the same as if the wielder had cast it, so they would still have to use their concentration.
It still takes concentration, but it takes concentration of the wielder, not the caster. Giving the ring to someone not usually concentrating (like a monk or a fighter) to get two concentration spells up at once is a common tactic.
Yes. You (the wearer) are casting the stored spell following all normal rules other than what is specifically changed (using original caster's spellcasting modifier, etc).
Incorrect - the concentration is performed when spell is cast into the ring - ie a 1 minute spell would take 1 minute to add to ring. If u stopped concentrating at the 30 second mark then when the ring is used to cast the spell it would last only 30 seconds.
No it is correct. Per Dungeon Master Guide, Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item and uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. For the Ring of spell storing specifically, it makes no exception to duration and you're treated as if you cast the spell.