IF A SPELL'S MATERIAL COMPONENTS ARE CONSUMED, CAN A SPELLCASTING FOCUS STILL BE USED IN PLACE OF THE CONSUMED COMPONENT?
Nope. A spellcasting focus can be used in place of a material component only if that component has no cost noted in the spell’s description and if that component isn’t consumed.
IF A SPELL'S MATERIAL COMPONENTS ARE CONSUMED, CAN A SPELLCASTING FOCUS STILL BE USED IN PLACE OF THE CONSUMED COMPONENT?
Nope. A spellcasting focus can be used in place of a material component only if that component has no cost noted in the spell’s description and if that component isn’t consumed.
We're talking pouches. Foci is well established as being unable to fill in for consumed components.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Protection from Evil and Good is not written correctly in the rules. There's no reason to debate it. There's no listed gold cost, thus nothing is consumed. Read the spell component as it not being consumed.
Protection from Evil and Good is not written correctly in the rules. There's no reason to debate it. There's no listed gold cost, thus nothing is consumed. Read the spell component as it not being consumed.
There are other places in the rules that seem incorrect. Can you tell us what they all actually mean? I'm glad we have you since we can't even trust the rule books on the subject.
Just for a reminder, this is what D&D beyond currently has listed as the material components for protection from evil and good:
* - (holy water or powdered silver and iron, which the spell consumes)
If it is a mistake and has not been corrected, we still have to deal with it as a rule. Houseruling it out of existence would be one such way, but claiming it is a mistake without authority is not.
Protection from Evil and Good is not written correctly in the rules. There's no reason to debate it. There's no listed gold cost, thus nothing is consumed. Read the spell component as it not being consumed.
There are other places in the rules that seem incorrect. Can you tell us what they all actually mean? I'm glad we have you since we can't even trust the rule books on the subject.
Just for a reminder, this is what D&D beyond currently has listed as the material components for protection from evil and good:
* - (holy water or powdered silver and iron, which the spell consumes)
If it is a mistake and has not been corrected, we still have to deal with it as a rule. Houseruling it out of existence would be one such way, but claiming it is a mistake without authority is not.
Obviously it consumes such a small quantity that it has no material value nor does it ever run out. Simple.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
IF A SPELL'S MATERIAL COMPONENTS ARE CONSUMED, CAN A SPELLCASTING FOCUS STILL BE USED IN PLACE OF THE CONSUMED COMPONENT?
Nope. A spellcasting focus can be used in place of a material component only if that component has no cost noted in the spell’s description and if that component isn’t consumed.
We're talking pouches. Foci is well established as being unable to fill in for consumed components.
It apply to pouch as well according to Jeremy Crawford.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I also found this article on Sage Advice: The Rules of Spellcasting https://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/rules-spellcasting
IF A SPELL'S MATERIAL COMPONENTS ARE CONSUMED, CAN A SPELLCASTING FOCUS STILL BE USED IN PLACE OF THE CONSUMED COMPONENT?
Nope. A spellcasting focus can be used in place of a material component only if that component has no cost noted in the spell’s description and if that component isn’t consumed.
We're talking pouches. Foci is well established as being unable to fill in for consumed components.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Protection from Evil and Good is not written correctly in the rules. There's no reason to debate it. There's no listed gold cost, thus nothing is consumed. Read the spell component as it not being consumed.
Altrazin Aghanes - Wizard/Fighter
Varpulis Windhowl - Fighter
Skolson Demjon - Cleric/Fighter
There are other places in the rules that seem incorrect. Can you tell us what they all actually mean? I'm glad we have you since we can't even trust the rule books on the subject.
Just for a reminder, this is what D&D beyond currently has listed as the material components for protection from evil and good:
If it is a mistake and has not been corrected, we still have to deal with it as a rule. Houseruling it out of existence would be one such way, but claiming it is a mistake without authority is not.
Obviously it consumes such a small quantity that it has no material value nor does it ever run out. Simple.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
It apply to pouch as well according to Jeremy Crawford.