If Lorna the Armorer uses Absorb Elements to mitigate a Burning Hands, then uses Thorn Whip on her turn to pull the caster out where the party can show their displeasure, would she also roll the fire damage from the previous spell?
The relevant texts are:
1) Absorb Elements: "...the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type..."
2) Thorn whip: "Make a melee spell attack against the target"
So are all melee attacks created equal, or is a melee spell a different animal?
I notice that the Barbarian's Reckless attack is very specific about what kind of attack qualifies for the advantage, which would seem to imply that less specific entries are therefore more inclusive, but I may be reading too much into that.
I think yes, it would grant the extra damage from Absorb Elements.
Spell and weapon attacks are different animals, thats right, but when a rule mean to make it strict it would mention "meele spell attack" or "meele weapon attack", so anytime i read "meele attack" I read as it is, no matter its a spell, a weapon or unarmed. Also, grappling and shoving are described as meele attacks so it would work as well (?)
It absolutely works. It would also work with Shocking Grasp, Primal Savagery, Vampiric Touch, etc. I'm less certain about Spiritual Weapon, my guess is no.
It absolutely works. It would also work with Shocking Grasp, Primal Savagery, Vampiric Touch, etc. I'm less certain about Spiritual Weapon, my guess is no.
I think spiritual weapon wouldn't work that way becouse the char would absorb the element to "store" it but not the actual weapon created on spirutual weapon
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
...Or maybe a clarification of definitions.
The specific example that I have in mind is this;
If Lorna the Armorer uses Absorb Elements to mitigate a Burning Hands, then uses Thorn Whip on her turn to pull the caster out where the party can show their displeasure, would she also roll the fire damage from the previous spell?
The relevant texts are:
1) Absorb Elements: "...the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type..."
2) Thorn whip: "Make a melee spell attack against the target"
So are all melee attacks created equal, or is a melee spell a different animal?
I notice that the Barbarian's Reckless attack is very specific about what kind of attack qualifies for the advantage, which would seem to imply that less specific entries are therefore more inclusive, but I may be reading too much into that.
In any case, thank you in advance.
Melee attacks can include melee spell attacks.
I think yes, it would grant the extra damage from Absorb Elements.
Spell and weapon attacks are different animals, thats right, but when a rule mean to make it strict it would mention "meele spell attack" or "meele weapon attack", so anytime i read "meele attack" I read as it is, no matter its a spell, a weapon or unarmed. Also, grappling and shoving are described as meele attacks so it would work as well (?)
It absolutely works. It would also work with Shocking Grasp, Primal Savagery, Vampiric Touch, etc. I'm less certain about Spiritual Weapon, my guess is no.
I think spiritual weapon wouldn't work that way becouse the char would absorb the element to "store" it but not the actual weapon created on spirutual weapon