I am curious as to how an interaction would take place between an unrevealed foe and someone walking past.
Assuming that the PC walks past a roper, finishing their 30ft. move just beyond the roper. The roper reveals itself by making an opportunity attack. after this interaction, the PC would be out of the ropers reach, nd would have moved 30ft, so couldn't move back to attack it. It also couldn't say that the ystopped earlier, because then the roper would not have been revealed. Is this correct?
Yes this is correct, assuming the Roper uses its tendril.
If the character exited the reach of the Roper's tendril, the character would be 50 feet away and grappled, leaving the character no way to make it back to the Roper immediately.
If the character exited the reach of the Roper's bite, the character would be 5 feet away from the Roper and wouldn't need to move to hit back at it.
I am curious as to how an interaction would take place between an unrevealed foe and someone walking past.
Assuming that the PC walks past a roper, finishing their 30ft. move just beyond the roper. The roper reveals itself by making an opportunity attack. after this interaction, the PC would be out of the ropers reach, nd would have moved 30ft, so couldn't move back to attack it. It also couldn't say that the ystopped earlier, because then the roper would not have been revealed. Is this correct?
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
Yes this is correct, assuming the Roper uses its tendril.
If the character exited the reach of the Roper's tendril, the character would be 50 feet away and grappled, leaving the character no way to make it back to the Roper immediately.
If the character exited the reach of the Roper's bite, the character would be 5 feet away from the Roper and wouldn't need to move to hit back at it.
To expand on Misty's answer, there is no rule saying you can't change what you're about to do in response to things that happen before you do it.
A few years ago, I asked a similar question about booming blade with war caster.