Twinned spell states "When you cast a spell that targets only one creature." Since some spells, such as ice shard, target one creature, but afterwards do damage to nearby creatures, can you still twin spell that?
is incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level
If you know this rule yet are still unsure whether a particular spell qualifies for Twinned Spell, consult with your DM, who has the final say. If the two of you are curious about our design intent, here is the list of things that disqualify a spell for us:
The spell has a range of self.
The spell can target an object.
The spell allows you to choose more than one creature to be affected by it, particularly at the level you’re casting the spell. Some spells increase their number of potential targets when you cast them at a higher level.
The spell can force more than one creature to make a saving throw before the spell’s duration expires.
The spell lets you make a roll of any kind that can affect more than one creature before the spell’s duration expires
This makes it a lot clearer that the intention behind the rule is that the spell can only affect one creature. Not sure why they couldn't have just errata'd it while they were at it, but this is the most complete version of the rule and how it's supposed to operate.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Twinned spell states "When you cast a spell that targets only one creature." Since some spells, such as ice shard, target one creature, but afterwards do damage to nearby creatures, can you still twin spell that?
Kevin_Chronicler
Have a look at a recent thread on the subject -> https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/134989-twinned-spell-ice-knife
Really the only thing you need to refer to is the Sage Advice about Twinned Spell:
This makes it a lot clearer that the intention behind the rule is that the spell can only affect one creature. Not sure why they couldn't have just errata'd it while they were at it, but this is the most complete version of the rule and how it's supposed to operate.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.