One of the characters in my campaign, is asking at next level if they’d be able to do this: Cast invisibility in themself, and sneak into place. Then, while invisible, cast the spell wristpocket as a ritual. Would this break the invisibility spell immediately upon starting the ritual, or at the end of the ritual?
"Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so." (Spellcasting)
It'd break their invisibility at the beginning of the ritual.
First, as the others have said you take the Cast a Spell action on each turn for the entire casting time for spells with a casting time longer than 1 action. This includes rituals and so Invisibility ends as soon as you start casting.
Second, casting a spell with a casting time longer than 1 action required you to maintain concentration on the spell during its casting. Invisibility also requires your concentration to maintain its effect. So Invisibility ends as soon as you start casting due to only being able to concentrate on one spell at a time.
I mention this concentration limitation because it is relevant of your player wants to combo regular casings of Wristpocket and Invisibility. Both spells require concentration, and so it isn't possible for both effects to be maintained by a single character.
I mention this concentration limitation because it is relevant of your player wants to combo regular casings of Wristpocket and Invisibility. Both spells require concentration, and so it isn't possible for both effects to be maintained by a single character.
This is a very interesting distinction that I had not thought about before. If you have cast invisibility on yourself, and you cast fire bolt on an enemy, invisibility ends on the attack roll because of the rules for invisibility. But if you cast invisibility on yourself, and then you cast witch bolt, I think it ends as soon as you begin casting the new concentration spell, so I'm not sure that you would be an unseen attacker by the time the attack roll happens.
EDIT: The "As soon as you start casting a spell" text appears in Tasha's, but in the basic rules, the timing is not quite as specific. It merely says, "You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once." so by that standard, you'd probably still get advantage on the initial attack roll.
I mention this concentration limitation because it is relevant of your player wants to combo regular casings of Wristpocket and Invisibility. Both spells require concentration, and so it isn't possible for both effects to be maintained by a single character.
This is a very interesting distinction that I had not thought about before. If you have cast invisibility on yourself, and you cast fire bolt on an enemy, invisibility ends on the attack roll because of the rules for invisibility. But if you cast invisibility on yourself, and then you cast witch bolt, I think it ends as soon as you begin casting the new concentration spell, so I'm not sure that you would be an unseen attacker by the time the attack roll happens.
The concentration on [Tooltip Not Found] ending and the attack roll being made both happen the instant the spell is cast. They happen just as concurrently as invisibility and an attack roll do when invisibility is cancelled by an attack roll.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Well sure, but there is a difference, even though it's a tiny one. You would be able to counterspellwitch bolt if it dropped just as you started to concentrate on the new spell. You would see them casting the spell, which would produce a valid trigger for counterspell. But in the case of fire bolt, you would be invisible until the attack roll happened, so no time to counterspell.
But the real issue here is that when I searched concentration, the more specific Tasha's text came up first. It wasn't until I looked at the PHB/Basic rules that I saw the wording is looser and in the case of either spell, there would be no valid trigger to counterspell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Not all those who wander are lost"
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
One of the characters in my campaign, is asking at next level if they’d be able to do this: Cast invisibility in themself, and sneak into place. Then, while invisible, cast the spell wristpocket as a ritual. Would this break the invisibility spell immediately upon starting the ritual, or at the end of the ritual?
Any help would be appreciated
"Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so." (Spellcasting)
It'd break their invisibility at the beginning of the ritual.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
Yeah, I would say you lose invisibility at the end of your first casting action on turn 1 of the casting.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The spell Invisibility ends for two reasons.
First, as the others have said you take the Cast a Spell action on each turn for the entire casting time for spells with a casting time longer than 1 action. This includes rituals and so Invisibility ends as soon as you start casting.
Second, casting a spell with a casting time longer than 1 action required you to maintain concentration on the spell during its casting. Invisibility also requires your concentration to maintain its effect. So Invisibility ends as soon as you start casting due to only being able to concentrate on one spell at a time.
I mention this concentration limitation because it is relevant of your player wants to combo regular casings of Wristpocket and Invisibility. Both spells require concentration, and so it isn't possible for both effects to be maintained by a single character.
This is a very interesting distinction that I had not thought about before. If you have cast invisibility on yourself, and you cast fire bolt on an enemy, invisibility ends on the attack roll because of the rules for invisibility. But if you cast invisibility on yourself, and then you cast witch bolt, I think it ends as soon as you begin casting the new concentration spell, so I'm not sure that you would be an unseen attacker by the time the attack roll happens.
EDIT: The "As soon as you start casting a spell" text appears in Tasha's, but in the basic rules, the timing is not quite as specific. It merely says, "You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. You can't concentrate on two spells at once." so by that standard, you'd probably still get advantage on the initial attack roll.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
The concentration on [Tooltip Not Found] ending and the attack roll being made both happen the instant the spell is cast. They happen just as concurrently as invisibility and an attack roll do when invisibility is cancelled by an attack roll.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Well sure, but there is a difference, even though it's a tiny one. You would be able to counterspell witch bolt if it dropped just as you started to concentrate on the new spell. You would see them casting the spell, which would produce a valid trigger for counterspell. But in the case of fire bolt, you would be invisible until the attack roll happened, so no time to counterspell.
But the real issue here is that when I searched concentration, the more specific Tasha's text came up first. It wasn't until I looked at the PHB/Basic rules that I saw the wording is looser and in the case of either spell, there would be no valid trigger to counterspell.
"Not all those who wander are lost"