In a similar vein and relevant to the topic being discussed. Do different magic items with the same minor property stack?
Consider magical armor, a magical sword, and a magical hat - all with different names but all have the Guardian minor property (+2 to initiative). Does the character receive +2 to initiative or +6 from the stacked Guardian minor property? The property has the same name BUT the magic items clearly do not. Is the answer different from a feat called Alert and a magic item property called Alert?
If there was a feat with the same name as ANY of the weapon minor properties, does the character have to choose one? Does it matter if they do the same thing or if they do different things?
The rules in the DMG state "But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap." This implicitly assumes that features with the same name do the same thing - what happens with game features with the same name but DIFFERENT effects. RAW only the most "potent" one would apply.
If the Alert property on the weapon in this case was modified to be just the +5 to initiative without the rest of the Alert feat included - does that change how folks would interpret the overlap?
Oh you're right i forgot that it's been added to the Dungeon Master Guide as an Errata i stand corrected.
In a similar vein and relevant to the topic being discussed. Do different magic items with the same minor property stack?
Consider magical armor, a magical sword, and a magical hat - all with different names but all have the Guardian minor property (+2 to initiative). Does the character receive +2 to initiative or +6 from the stacked Guardian minor property? The property has the same name BUT the magic items clearly do not. Is the answer different from a feat called Alert and a magic item property called Alert?
If there was a feat with the same name as ANY of the weapon minor properties, does the character have to choose one? Does it matter if they do the same thing or if they do different things?
The rules in the DMG state "But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap." This implicitly assumes that features with the same name do the same thing - what happens with game features with the same name but DIFFERENT effects. RAW only the most "potent" one would apply.
If the Alert property on the weapon in this case was modified to be just the +5 to initiative without the rest of the Alert feat included - does that change how folks would interpret the overlap?
I don't know of any magic item's properties called Alert but i guess if there was one it could then not stack with same named game features..
Likewise, if multiple magic items had the special feature Guardian only one should apply according to Combining Magical Effects rule.