Okay so I was reading the new collage of Roads bard subclass, and one of the options is: Armed Combat Lessons:
A seasoned fighter taught you how to use a simple combat stance to wield your weapons more effectively. When you select this option, choose from the following Fighting Styles: Archery. Dueling. Great Weapon Fighting. Two-Weapon Fighting.
When you make a weapon attack, you can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration, adding your Bardic Inspiration die to the attack or damage roll. When you do this, you gain the benefits of your chosen Fighting Style for 10 minutes.
The thing is you can't take the same Fighting style twice as stated here: You can't take the same Fighting Style option more than once, even if you get to choose again.
But since as it is written you are not technically taking a Fighting Style, you are just gaining its benefits for a short period of time. Does that mean you can can have lets say archery apply twice? 1 from your actual fighting style and 1 from this feature.
I would chalk it up to a third party resource not putting much consideration into rules interactions and wouldn’t allow it to stack despite the wording.
The feature is still replicating the style (even if temporarily) or gaining the benefit of the style (+2 to range attacks from archery), it still shouldn’t stack with permanent +2 to range attacks from archery.
I agree it does not stack. You are gaining the fighting style even if it is temporary so if you already have it then the bard feature wouldn’t allow it again.
I mean you are choosing the fighting style and it is permanent (you don’t choose it from one duration to another so you don’t take two weapon fighting for one fight and GWF for your next fight) though limited in use by using BI.
It shouldn't stack. It is essentially the same feature, just with a different name.
I think a DM could also argue it's not really a different name; the effect is gaining the Archery (or whatever) Fighting Style, but if you already have the Archery Fighting Style then that's two effects with the same name so wouldn't stack?
It's definitely not intended to stack, as it's very much meant to be a "lesser" form of what being the actual class would grant (though some feature of College of the Road are actually pretty good in their own right).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Could you use two different tactics on the same attack? The Reckless Tactic that gives you advantage and the Armed Tactic that increases to hit or damage, for example.
Could you use two different tactics on the same attack? The Reckless Tactic that gives you advantage and the Armed Tactic that increases to hit or damage, for example.
The Reckless Tactics feature itself doesn't say so, and any interaction between published material and 3rd party would be up to DM in this case.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Okay so I was reading the new collage of Roads bard subclass, and one of the options is: Armed Combat Lessons:
A seasoned fighter taught you how to use a simple combat stance to wield your weapons more effectively. When you select this option, choose from the following Fighting Styles: Archery. Dueling. Great Weapon Fighting. Two-Weapon Fighting.
When you make a weapon attack, you can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration, adding your Bardic Inspiration die to the attack or damage roll. When you do this, you gain the benefits of your chosen Fighting Style for 10 minutes.
The thing is you can't take the same Fighting style twice as stated here: You can't take the same Fighting Style option more than once, even if you get to choose again.
But since as it is written you are not technically taking a Fighting Style, you are just gaining its benefits for a short period of time. Does that mean you can can have lets say archery apply twice? 1 from your actual fighting style and 1 from this feature.
I would chalk it up to a third party resource not putting much consideration into rules interactions and wouldn’t allow it to stack despite the wording.
The feature is still replicating the style (even if temporarily) or gaining the benefit of the style (+2 to range attacks from archery), it still shouldn’t stack with permanent +2 to range attacks from archery.
I agree it does not stack. You are gaining the fighting style even if it is temporary so if you already have it then the bard feature wouldn’t allow it again.
I mean you are choosing the fighting style and it is permanent (you don’t choose it from one duration to another so you don’t take two weapon fighting for one fight and GWF for your next fight) though limited in use by using BI.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
I think a DM could also argue it's not really a different name; the effect is gaining the Archery (or whatever) Fighting Style, but if you already have the Archery Fighting Style then that's two effects with the same name so wouldn't stack?
It's definitely not intended to stack, as it's very much meant to be a "lesser" form of what being the actual class would grant (though some feature of College of the Road are actually pretty good in their own right).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Could you use two different tactics on the same attack? The Reckless Tactic that gives you advantage and the Armed Tactic that increases to hit or damage, for example.
The Reckless Tactics feature itself doesn't say so, and any interaction between published material and 3rd party would be up to DM in this case.