Alright I've got a question about Chaos Bolt. It says on hit, roll 2d8+1d6. The d8's decide what type of damage. But are they added to the d6 or is it just them deciding damage
Alright, got another question regarding Chaos Bolt. We do 'crunchy' crits which means max damage plus dice roll. Does that mean when you crit with a Chaos Bolt it jumps or just does damage?
Alright, got another question regarding Chaos Bolt. We do 'crunchy' crits which means max damage plus dice roll. Does that mean when you crit with a Chaos Bolt it jumps or just does damage?
Since that's not how critical hits work in the official rules, that sounds like a ruling for the DM to make. But I don't know why that would change the jumping behavior.
Alright, got another question regarding Chaos Bolt. We do 'crunchy' crits which means max damage plus dice roll. Does that mean when you crit with a Chaos Bolt it jumps or just does damage?
Getting a critical hit has to do with the to-hit roll. Having the bolt jump has to do with the damage roll. Whatever mechanic your table uses for crits doesn't change that.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Alright I've got a question about Chaos Bolt. It says on hit, roll 2d8+1d6. The d8's decide what type of damage. But are they added to the d6 or is it just them deciding damage
“On a hit, the target takes 2d8 + 1d6 damage.”
That is an insane amount of damage for a first level spell.
Nah, that aligns pretty well with a single target damage spell for 1st Level. Compare with spells like Guiding Bolt, for example.
Not really.
Chaos Bolt 12 damage (2d8+1d6 - possibility for additional hit)
Burning Hands 10 damage (3d6 - 15ft cone)
Catapult 13 damage (3d8)
Guiding Bolt 14 damage (4d6 - Radiant)
Inflict Wounds 11 damage (2d10 - Necrotic + save for half)
Thunderwave 9 damage (2d8 - Thunder + 15ft cone + pushing effect + save for half)
Magic Missile 10 damage (3*1d4+1 - Force + always hits)
Alright, got another question regarding Chaos Bolt. We do 'crunchy' crits which means max damage plus dice roll. Does that mean when you crit with a Chaos Bolt it jumps or just does damage?
Since that's not how critical hits work in the official rules, that sounds like a ruling for the DM to make. But I don't know why that would change the jumping behavior.
pronouns: he/she/they
Getting a critical hit has to do with the to-hit roll. Having the bolt jump has to do with the damage roll. Whatever mechanic your table uses for crits doesn't change that.