So, I am beginning to DM and though it didn't come up in the first game, I wanted to know more about Dodge. In other tabletop games I've played when an enemy has attacked, I have been able to choose dodge (despite not being my turn yet), but that does forfeit my turn. Is it similar for 5e?
I just was not sure if the actual turn for the character in initiative is the only time they can decide to go and use the Dodge action. As if, Dodge can be a Reaction so to speak.
The Dodge Action is something you do during your turn. As your action for the turn, you can choose to Dodge. If you do, then attacks against you have disadvantage until the beginning of your next turn. Some classes can use Dodge as a Bonus Action, letting them also do normal stuff like attacking or casting spells on their turn with their normal Action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The mongoose blew out its candle and was asleep in bed before the room went dark." —Llanowar fable
Got it, appreciate it. Just wanted to make sure. Especially seeing some of the bonus action a monk could take, I wanted to make sure I was following the rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, I am beginning to DM and though it didn't come up in the first game, I wanted to know more about Dodge. In other tabletop games I've played when an enemy has attacked, I have been able to choose dodge (despite not being my turn yet), but that does forfeit my turn. Is it similar for 5e?
I just was not sure if the actual turn for the character in initiative is the only time they can decide to go and use the Dodge action. As if, Dodge can be a Reaction so to speak.
The Dodge Action is something you do during your turn. As your action for the turn, you can choose to Dodge. If you do, then attacks against you have disadvantage until the beginning of your next turn. Some classes can use Dodge as a Bonus Action, letting them also do normal stuff like attacking or casting spells on their turn with their normal Action.
To briefly elaborate, Dodge is *not* a Reaction, in any case
(unless you homebrew it to be one)
I know what you're thinking: "In that flurry of blows, did he use all his ki points, or save one?" Well, are ya feeling lucky, punk?
Got it, appreciate it. Just wanted to make sure. Especially seeing some of the bonus action a monk could take, I wanted to make sure I was following the rules.