Reactive Spell.When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature.
If I have the initiative, and I am a warlock with a whip (10 ft reach) in hand, I cast eldritch blast during my turn. Does an opponent provoke an opportunity attack when it leaves my 10 ft reach even if the whip is in hand but was not used? If it does create a reaction, can I cast (for a 2nd time) eldritch blast (at will cantrip) at the opponent? Or do I need to cast a different spell?
What about the opposite for initiative. The opponent moves before I go. I realize I can cast eldritch blast at him, but can I still cast eldritch blast again on my actual turn?
Reactive Spell.When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature.
If I have the initiative, and I am a warlock with a whip (10 ft reach) in hand, I cast eldritch blast during my turn. Does an opponent provoke an opportunity attack when it leaves my 10 ft reach even if the whip is in hand but was not used?
Technically, this is right.
If it does create a reaction, can I cast (for a 2nd time) eldritch blast (at will cantrip) at the opponent? Or do I need to cast a different spell?
What about the opposite for initiative. The opponent moves before I go. I realize I can cast eldritch blast at him, but can I still cast eldritch blast again on my actual turn?
Yes, basically you're using your Reaction off-turn to cast the cantrip, and on your turn, you're casting it by taking the Magic action.
My only doubt in your scenario is: how is the enemy provoking an Opportunity Attack on your own turn?
Reactive Spell.When a creature provokes an Opportunity Attack from you by leaving your reach, you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack. The spell must have a casting time of one action and must target only that creature.
If I have the initiative, and I am a warlock with a whip (10 ft reach) in hand, I cast eldritch blast during my turn. Does an opponent provoke an opportunity attack when it leaves my 10 ft reach even if the whip is in hand but was not used? If it does create a reaction, can I cast (for a 2nd time) eldritch blast (at will cantrip) at the opponent? Or do I need to cast a different spell?
What about the opposite for initiative. The opponent moves before I go. I realize I can cast eldritch blast at him, but can I still cast eldritch blast again on my actual turn?
When an enemy provokes an Opportunity Attack during your turn, you can use a Reaction. Note that if the enemy's movement isn't using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds, it will not provoke unless noted otherwise.
When you use cast Eldritch Blast as a Reaction off turn, you can cast it on your turn as well with the Magic action.
I think the first part (Does a reach weapon increase my reach for War Caster?) was answered, though I can see how someone might be confused:
Reach
A Reach weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, as well as when determining your reach for Opportunity Attacks with it.
I believe the last clause is the important one:
Opportunity Attacks
You can make an Opportunity Attack when a creature that you can see leaves your reach using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds. To make the Opportunity Attack, take a Reaction to make one melee attack with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike against the provoking creature. The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach.
With Reactive Spell replacing the OA, and the OA granted because of your reach weapon, you are well within your right to cast EB when something moves from 10' to 11' away from you of their own volition. I think the second part of the question simply may be due to confusion about the rule about the number of spells you can cast on a turn. It only restricts spells you cast with a spell slot AND a turn is a single creature's Action, Bonus Action, and Movement (i.e. not a "round" which is everyone's). EB being a cantrip means you can cast it as many times per turn as you have actions/BAs/OAs to do so as long as you have ways of casting it other than as an Action. That is on top of being able to cast it on any other's turn using OAs or perhaps some other feature. Spells with Spell Slots are the only ones you have to worry about being restricted on, but even then it's per turn, not per round.
In short: You can cast EB before your turn when the creature leaves 10' as an OA and then again on your turn as a Magic Action. You can cast EB on your turn as a Magic Action and then again on a creature's turn as they leave 10' as an OA. You can cast EB on your turn if the creature has some feature that allows them to leave 10' while provoking an OA and then again on your same turn using the Magic Action.*
*This is the only situation where replacing EB with a leveled spell cast with a Spell Slot would not work. One of the two casts would need to be a cantrip.
[...] In short: You can cast EB before your turn when the creature leaves 10' as an OA and then again on your turn as a Magic Action. You can cast EB on your turn as a Magic Action and then again on a creature's turn as they leave 10' as an OA. You can cast EB on your turn if the creature has some feature that allows them to leave 10' while provoking an OA and then again on your same turn using the Magic Action.*
*This is the only situation where replacing EB with a leveled spell cast with a Spell Slot would not work. One of the two casts would need to be a cantrip.
Good explanation! Just to add you could also cast more than one leveled spell using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, and/or Reaction on your turn if those spells come from traits/features/feats that let characters cast them without using a spell slot, or from Magic Items.
As an aside depending on how you read it this only works with eldritch blast up to level 4 as at level 5 you have a 2nd bolt which some say including I think a sage advice in 2014 violate the "and must target only that creature" part of the feat. I think that is silly as being capable of targeting more than 1 person and targeting more than one person are different things. Area spells would still not work imo as area spells target an area not one creature whether or not only one creature gets hit.
As an aside depending on how you read it this only works with eldritch blast up to level 4 as at level 5 you have a 2nd bolt which some say including I think a sage advice in 2014 violate the "and must target only that creature" part of the feat. I think that is silly as being capable of targeting more than 1 person and targeting more than one person are different things. Area spells would still not work imo as area spells target an area not one creature whether or not only one creature gets hit.
Sage Advice never actually addressed this specific thing, which is very annoying. The old Sage Advice did have a statement on the old version of Twinned Spell, which had a similar restriction, but used different language — "must be incapable of targeting more than one creature" vs "must target only that creature". Eldritch Blast (at level 5+) very clearly is not eligible under the former, but the latter is less clear.
I'd probably allow it just because I'm a "rule of fun" DM most of the time, but if a DM wanted to split the difference and compromise, I don't think it would be unreasonable to say (as a house rule) that you can use Eldritch Blast in that situation, but you can only shoot one beam with it regardless of level.
As an aside depending on how you read it this only works with eldritch blast up to level 4 as at level 5 you have a 2nd bolt which some say including I think a sage advice in 2014 violate the "and must target only that creature" part of the feat. I think that is silly as being capable of targeting more than 1 person and targeting more than one person are different things. Area spells would still not work imo as area spells target an area not one creature whether or not only one creature gets hit.
Sage Advice never actually addressed this specific thing, which is very annoying. The old Sage Advice did have a statement on the old version of Twinned Spell, which had a similar restriction, but used different language — "must be incapable of targeting more than one creature" vs "must target only that creature". Eldritch Blast (at level 5+) very clearly is not eligible under the former, but the latter is less clear.
I'd probably allow it just because I'm a "rule of fun" DM most of the time, but if a DM wanted to split the difference and compromise, I don't think it would be unreasonable to say (as a house rule) that you can use Eldritch Blast in that situation, but you can only shoot one beam with it regardless of level.
Thanks, I couldn't remember the specifics but I do remember many people on this forum arguing that you couldn't. Which again I always thought was silly. And it looks like Tarodnet found a non official dev answer that aligns with it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It has this attribute:
If I have the initiative, and I am a warlock with a whip (10 ft reach) in hand, I cast eldritch blast during my turn. Does an opponent provoke an opportunity attack when it leaves my 10 ft reach even if the whip is in hand but was not used? If it does create a reaction, can I cast (for a 2nd time) eldritch blast (at will cantrip) at the opponent? Or do I need to cast a different spell?
What about the opposite for initiative. The opponent moves before I go. I realize I can cast eldritch blast at him, but can I still cast eldritch blast again on my actual turn?
Technically, this is right.
Yes, since it's a spell with casting time of one action, and it also follows the One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn rule.
Yes, basically you're using your Reaction off-turn to cast the cantrip, and on your turn, you're casting it by taking the Magic action.
My only doubt in your scenario is: how is the enemy provoking an Opportunity Attack on your own turn?
The reaction doens't care what you did during your turn. It's a new turn now, you can cast a leveled spell if you want.
When an enemy provokes an Opportunity Attack during your turn, you can use a Reaction. Note that if the enemy's movement isn't using its action, its Bonus Action, its Reaction, or one of its speeds, it will not provoke unless noted otherwise.
When you use cast Eldritch Blast as a Reaction off turn, you can cast it on your turn as well with the Magic action.
I think the first part (Does a reach weapon increase my reach for War Caster?) was answered, though I can see how someone might be confused:
I believe the last clause is the important one:
With Reactive Spell replacing the OA, and the OA granted because of your reach weapon, you are well within your right to cast EB when something moves from 10' to 11' away from you of their own volition. I think the second part of the question simply may be due to confusion about the rule about the number of spells you can cast on a turn. It only restricts spells you cast with a spell slot AND a turn is a single creature's Action, Bonus Action, and Movement (i.e. not a "round" which is everyone's). EB being a cantrip means you can cast it as many times per turn as you have actions/BAs/OAs to do so as long as you have ways of casting it other than as an Action. That is on top of being able to cast it on any other's turn using OAs or perhaps some other feature. Spells with Spell Slots are the only ones you have to worry about being restricted on, but even then it's per turn, not per round.
In short:
You can cast EB before your turn when the creature leaves 10' as an OA and then again on your turn as a Magic Action.
You can cast EB on your turn as a Magic Action and then again on a creature's turn as they leave 10' as an OA.
You can cast EB on your turn if the creature has some feature that allows them to leave 10' while provoking an OA and then again on your same turn using the Magic Action.*
*This is the only situation where replacing EB with a leveled spell cast with a Spell Slot would not work. One of the two casts would need to be a cantrip.
Good explanation! Just to add you could also cast more than one leveled spell using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, and/or Reaction on your turn if those spells come from traits/features/feats that let characters cast them without using a spell slot, or from Magic Items.
As an aside depending on how you read it this only works with eldritch blast up to level 4 as at level 5 you have a 2nd bolt which some say including I think a sage advice in 2014 violate the "and must target only that creature" part of the feat. I think that is silly as being capable of targeting more than 1 person and targeting more than one person are different things. Area spells would still not work imo as area spells target an area not one creature whether or not only one creature gets hit.
Sage Advice never actually addressed this specific thing, which is very annoying. The old Sage Advice did have a statement on the old version of Twinned Spell, which had a similar restriction, but used different language — "must be incapable of targeting more than one creature" vs "must target only that creature". Eldritch Blast (at level 5+) very clearly is not eligible under the former, but the latter is less clear.
I'd probably allow it just because I'm a "rule of fun" DM most of the time, but if a DM wanted to split the difference and compromise, I don't think it would be unreasonable to say (as a house rule) that you can use Eldritch Blast in that situation, but you can only shoot one beam with it regardless of level.
pronouns: he/she/they
While not official ruling, this is from the Dev:
I admit I agree with that.
Thanks, I couldn't remember the specifics but I do remember many people on this forum arguing that you couldn't. Which again I always thought was silly. And it looks like Tarodnet found a non official dev answer that aligns with it.