Edit: Thank you all for the responses, you guys were great. This definitely helped me understand the rules and interactions better. Next I’ll have to apologize to the DM for making a fuzz about this.
RAW and/or RAI - Can a player Ready an Action to cast Vortex Warp as a Reaction to (on a failed save) move an enemy creature up to 90 feet away causing the creature’s attack to miss or spell to be wasted? Effectively acting as a poor man’s Temporal Shunt spell from Explorer’s Guide to Wildemount.
This came up at my table recently and the DM shot it down, saying that’s not how the spell works and you can’t “Time Walk” (MTG reference) a creature’s attack or turn with a 2nd level spell like that.
I advocated that it does/should work given the trigger conditions: “when (a specific creature) makes an attack roll or uses its breath attack”. The risk involved: the spell is cast immediately, requires concentration to maintain, and most importantly the enemy creature would have to fail the CON saving throw. And the setup: requires the player to spend their action and reaction to make this work.
Regardless, the DM said no and we all agreed to disagree and moved on. I am however still curious as to whether this interaction was applied within the rules of the game OR if we were all pushing for something to buy time and give us an edge.
This wouldn't work, because the attack or casting would be complete before your Readied action would trigger
When the trigger occurs, you can either take your Reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue) Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
What you can do is Ready to cast Vortex Warp when the enemy moves so that you cast the spell and possibly being teleported after it finishes so it may be out of reach or range for an attack or spell.
As a rule, anything that doesn't explicitly say it interacts with a part of the Attack Action- such as Shield, Silvery Barbs, Bardic Inspiration, etc.- can't modify the sequence mid-action.
RAW and/or RAI - Can a player Ready an Action to cast Vortex Warp as a Reaction to (on a failed save) move an enemy creature up to 90 feet away causing the creature’s attack to miss or spell to be wasted? Effectively acting as a poor man’s Temporal Shunt spell from Explorer’s Guide to Wildemount. [...]
Edit: Thank you all for the responses, you guys were great. This definitely helped me understand the rules and interactions better. Next I’ll have to apologize to the DM for making a fuzz about this.
RAW and/or RAI - Can a player Ready an Action to cast Vortex Warp as a Reaction to (on a failed save) move an enemy creature up to 90 feet away causing the creature’s attack to miss or spell to be wasted? Effectively acting as a poor man’s Temporal Shunt spell from Explorer’s Guide to Wildemount.
This came up at my table recently and the DM shot it down, saying that’s not how the spell works and you can’t “Time Walk” (MTG reference) a creature’s attack or turn with a 2nd level spell like that.
I advocated that it does/should work given the trigger conditions: “when (a specific creature) makes an attack roll or uses its breath attack”. The risk involved: the spell is cast immediately, requires concentration to maintain, and most importantly the enemy creature would have to fail the CON saving throw. And the setup: requires the player to spend their action and reaction to make this work.
Regardless, the DM said no and we all agreed to disagree and moved on. I am however still curious as to whether this interaction was applied within the rules of the game OR if we were all pushing for something to buy time and give us an edge.
Thanks for your feedback.
This wouldn't work, because the attack or casting would be complete before your Readied action would trigger
Active characters:
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue)
Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
What you can do is Ready to cast Vortex Warp when the enemy moves so that you cast the spell and possibly being teleported after it finishes so it may be out of reach or range for an attack or spell.
As a rule, anything that doesn't explicitly say it interacts with a part of the Attack Action- such as Shield, Silvery Barbs, Bardic Inspiration, etc.- can't modify the sequence mid-action.
Can you ready an action to be triggered after an attack is made but before the damage is dealt? asks a question close to yours, if you want to read other explanations, but the reasons why it's not allowed are basically the same as those explained here.