So I was wondering from a raw rules perspective (naturally it depends on the dm regularly), if it would be possible for a character using two weapon fighting while having multiple attacks to choose which weapon to use for each attack or is it just main hand weapon for the attack action and offhand for bonus action. I know the bonus action would have to be the offhand weapon but could I attack 1 time using my main weapon and the rest with my offhand weapon? Just a thought that past by my head thanks in advance for your time.
So I was wondering from a raw rules perspective (naturally it depends on the dm regularly), if it would be possible for a character using two weapon fighting while having multiple attacks to choose which weapon to use for each attack or is it just main hand weapon for the attack action and offhand for bonus action. I know the bonus action would have to be the offhand weapon but could I attack 1 time using my main weapon and the rest with my offhand weapon? Just a thought that past by my head thanks in advance for your time.
The tweets I've read from Mearls & Crawford indicate that the attacks you make during the Attack action have no restrictions when it comes to which weapon. The frequently-used term "off-hand attack" for the attack you make with your Bonus Action is a bit of a misnomer. The gist of the rule is "If you use Weapon A during your Attack action, you can use your Bonus Action to make an attack with Weapon B". There's nothing that says you can't use Weapons A & B during the Attack action, just that you can't use Weapon A for all of your main attacks AND your Bonus Action attack. Two-weapon fighting has to be just that: TWO weapon fighting.
Assuming there are no feats, fighting styles, class features, magic items or spells in play, the simplest explanation would be:
You are holding two weapons, one in each hand, both with the light property
You attack with one of those weapons using your action. We shall call this Weapon A
The to-hit bonus for Weapon A is ability modifier + applicable proficiency bonus
The damage roll for Weapon A is damage dice + ability modifier
You then attack with the other weapon as a bonus action. We shall call this Weapon B
The to-hit bonus for Weapon B is ability modifier + applicable proficiency bonus
The damage roll for Weapon B is damage dice (+ ability modifier if negative)
There you go. doesn't matter which weapon is in which hand, the first one that you attack with using your action is always Weapon A and the second one is always Weapon B
So I was wondering from a raw rules perspective (naturally it depends on the dm regularly), if it would be possible for a character using two weapon fighting while having multiple attacks to choose which weapon to use for each attack or is it just main hand weapon for the attack action and offhand for bonus action. I know the bonus action would have to be the offhand weapon but could I attack 1 time using my main weapon and the rest with my offhand weapon? Just a thought that past by my head thanks in advance for your time.
Only the bonus action attack has special requirements. That you must attack with the other hand before you gain the bonus attack.
Some people will say(me) that as long as you make one attack with one hand during your turn, you can make a bonus action attack with the other.
Others will say that your bonus action attack must follow the attack from the other hand.
I would allow any combination of attacks.
Attack action (weapons A and B) + bonus
A and B + bonus A or B
2x A + bonus B
2x B + bonus A
The tweets I've read from Mearls & Crawford indicate that the attacks you make during the Attack action have no restrictions when it comes to which weapon. The frequently-used term "off-hand attack" for the attack you make with your Bonus Action is a bit of a misnomer. The gist of the rule is "If you use Weapon A during your Attack action, you can use your Bonus Action to make an attack with Weapon B". There's nothing that says you can't use Weapons A & B during the Attack action, just that you can't use Weapon A for all of your main attacks AND your Bonus Action attack. Two-weapon fighting has to be just that: TWO weapon fighting.
Assuming there are no feats, fighting styles, class features, magic items or spells in play, the simplest explanation would be:
There you go. doesn't matter which weapon is in which hand, the first one that you attack with using your action is always Weapon A and the second one is always Weapon B
Find my D&D Beyond articles here