I made a silly character that isn't likely to get used (unless my main character dies.) My query is that as a level 7 Wizard, why do I seem to have the spell slots of a 10th level wizard? I have 3 cleric levels, so my character level is 10, but that doesn't change the fact that I should only have 7th level wizard stuff, right?
I'm not sure if it's something I'm missing, or if there's a possible bug. Any ideas?!
Multiclassing 2 full casters gives you spell slots like a 10th level full caster but only the spells of a 7th level wizard and a 3rd level cleric. You can then use the higher level slots for upcasting the lower level spells.
Yes. You can only learn wizard spells up to 4th level and cleric spells to 2nd, but you could potentially, for example, cast a 5d8 cure wounds with a 5th level slot.
Oooh ok - I didn't know this! Thank you very much!
Bear in mind the multiclassing rules are poorly written, and the rules given to you in this thread are the way absolutely everyone plays them instead of the actual RAW (the actual RAW would let you use the higher level slots to cast spells from your spellbook without preparing them, which is just absurd). I recommend just following the advice given in this thread: prepare your spells using your wizard and cleric rules, respectively, and then use any slot you have on any spell you have prepared.
Very good point - as far as I'm concerned, if I don't have a spell prepared, I can't cast it unless it's a ritual, so I think I would have fallen into the usual way of doing things, but thank you for the clarification! :)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/profile/GreenWalrus/characters/50062342
Hi friends!
I made a silly character that isn't likely to get used (unless my main character dies.) My query is that as a level 7 Wizard, why do I seem to have the spell slots of a 10th level wizard? I have 3 cleric levels, so my character level is 10, but that doesn't change the fact that I should only have 7th level wizard stuff, right?
I'm not sure if it's something I'm missing, or if there's a possible bug. Any ideas?!
Wishing you all many nat 20's! ☺️
Multiclassing 2 full casters gives you spell slots like a 10th level full caster but only the spells of a 7th level wizard and a 3rd level cleric. You can then use the higher level slots for upcasting the lower level spells.
Yes. You can only learn wizard spells up to 4th level and cleric spells to 2nd, but you could potentially, for example, cast a 5d8 cure wounds with a 5th level slot.
Oooh ok - I didn't know this! Thank you very much!
Evidently I've never multiclassed as 2 main spell casters before!
Bear in mind the multiclassing rules are poorly written, and the rules given to you in this thread are the way absolutely everyone plays them instead of the actual RAW (the actual RAW would let you use the higher level slots to cast spells from your spellbook without preparing them, which is just absurd). I recommend just following the advice given in this thread: prepare your spells using your wizard and cleric rules, respectively, and then use any slot you have on any spell you have prepared.
Very good point - as far as I'm concerned, if I don't have a spell prepared, I can't cast it unless it's a ritual, so I think I would have fallen into the usual way of doing things, but thank you for the clarification! :)