If a similar thread already exists or this topic is in the wrong forum section (Given that I don't know if it's a bug or not) - Do tell me and I will delete / flag it.
I have a question regarding Polearm Master and the way DnD Beyond displays it's information on my character sheet. My Human Barbarian has Polearm Master and is using a Halberd which of course has 10ft reach with it (It also says "10 ft reach" next to the attack roll on the Attack panel). But when I click over to the Bonus Action and Reaction Panels where I can click to attack / roll with the given Bonus Action / Reaction you can take due to Polearm Master; The range only says "5 ft reach" unlike the attack panel where it says 10. Do you not get the "benefit" of using a reach weapon when using this Bonus Action and Reaction despite still using the same weapon with reach? Or is this just a display bug on the character sheet of some sort? Just wanted to ask as to me it seems like it should be 10 ft but I don't want to just assume that and then essentially stand the risk of "cheating" in a game.
PAM with a halberd gives you a 10’ reach for all attacks. Both the standard attack action attacks, and the BA attack with the butt end, and the reaction attack when an enemy enters your reach. I have heard of some people house ruling the butt end BA attack not having a 10’ reach, but by RAW, it does.
Not all the weapons that you can use PAM with have a 10' reach. So the bonus action granted by the feat hedges its bets and doesn't give you the reach either, because the sheet doesn't know what weapon you're using the bonus action with. Just use the notes field to note that it's your halberd and you have 10' reach.
A Halberd has the Reach property which gives you an extra 5 ft range. This is automatically calculated on the weapon attack action.
The bonus actions provided by feats and features are general and don't link to the specific weapon you are equipped with (your sheet may have multiple weapons equipped for convenience). Spear and quarterstaff don't have the Reach property; for glaive and halberd just make a note that you have the extra 5 ft reach.
It's not cheating, just that the character sheets can't handle every rules-interaction perfectly so you still have to track some things manually.
If a similar thread already exists or this topic is in the wrong forum section (Given that I don't know if it's a bug or not) - Do tell me and I will delete / flag it.
I have a question regarding Polearm Master and the way DnD Beyond displays it's information on my character sheet. My Human Barbarian has Polearm Master and is using a Halberd which of course has 10ft reach with it (It also says "10 ft reach" next to the attack roll on the Attack panel). But when I click over to the Bonus Action and Reaction Panels where I can click to attack / roll with the given Bonus Action / Reaction you can take due to Polearm Master; The range only says "5 ft reach" unlike the attack panel where it says 10. Do you not get the "benefit" of using a reach weapon when using this Bonus Action and Reaction despite still using the same weapon with reach? Or is this just a display bug on the character sheet of some sort? Just wanted to ask as to me it seems like it should be 10 ft but I don't want to just assume that and then essentially stand the risk of "cheating" in a game.
Thanks in advance for any and all answers.
Ignore the sheet since any attack made is automatically set for 5ft unless specified otherwise, such as with a Halberd having a reach of 10ft due to the Reach property. The feat itself does NOT contain a range within it, only specifies the weapons it works with. And places an attack button on the Reaction page, which again is set for 5ft by default.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If a similar thread already exists or this topic is in the wrong forum section (Given that I don't know if it's a bug or not) - Do tell me and I will delete / flag it.
I have a question regarding Polearm Master and the way DnD Beyond displays it's information on my character sheet. My Human Barbarian has Polearm Master and is using a Halberd which of course has 10ft reach with it (It also says "10 ft reach" next to the attack roll on the Attack panel). But when I click over to the Bonus Action and Reaction Panels where I can click to attack / roll with the given Bonus Action / Reaction you can take due to Polearm Master; The range only says "5 ft reach" unlike the attack panel where it says 10. Do you not get the "benefit" of using a reach weapon when using this Bonus Action and Reaction despite still using the same weapon with reach? Or is this just a display bug on the character sheet of some sort? Just wanted to ask as to me it seems like it should be 10 ft but I don't want to just assume that and then essentially stand the risk of "cheating" in a game.
Thanks in advance for any and all answers.
PAM with a halberd gives you a 10’ reach for all attacks. Both the standard attack action attacks, and the BA attack with the butt end, and the reaction attack when an enemy enters your reach. I have heard of some people house ruling the butt end BA attack not having a 10’ reach, but by RAW, it does.
Not all the weapons that you can use PAM with have a 10' reach. So the bonus action granted by the feat hedges its bets and doesn't give you the reach either, because the sheet doesn't know what weapon you're using the bonus action with. Just use the notes field to note that it's your halberd and you have 10' reach.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
A Halberd has the Reach property which gives you an extra 5 ft range. This is automatically calculated on the weapon attack action.
The bonus actions provided by feats and features are general and don't link to the specific weapon you are equipped with (your sheet may have multiple weapons equipped for convenience). Spear and quarterstaff don't have the Reach property; for glaive and halberd just make a note that you have the extra 5 ft reach.
It's not cheating, just that the character sheets can't handle every rules-interaction perfectly so you still have to track some things manually.
Ignore the sheet since any attack made is automatically set for 5ft unless specified otherwise, such as with a Halberd having a reach of 10ft due to the Reach property. The feat itself does NOT contain a range within it, only specifies the weapons it works with. And places an attack button on the Reaction page, which again is set for 5ft by default.