If the caster of Web cast it including his own space in the web and he not gonna go out of it before the beginning of his next turn, when this next turn come, he have to roll a dextery save or be rastrained also? Or he is immune to the effect of his own Web spell? And also, the difficult terrain apply to him or not (about this i think yes, the difficult terrain apply anyway, but i'm not 100% sure)?
Im kinda sure im just missing some general rule that clarify this, but i can't remind which one lol. Thanks to anyone who will make it clear for me.
Generally, spells only do what they say they do. If the spell does not state that the caster is immune to its effects, they are not immune. If you cast Fireball and were within the range you would also take damage. If you cast darkness, you can't see in that darkness without some ability that lets you see in magical darkness.
Now, if you have some sort of class feature or other ability that grants you immunity that's one thing. But you aren't automatically immune to your own aoe spells unless they state otherwise.
You could also, if you needed to, just stop concentrating on the web and escape it immediately. Though that would also release any enemies in the area.
Some spells like Slow will allow you to specify which creatures in the area are affected. But if the spell doesn't specifically state exceptions to who is effected, all creatures including the caster are affected, barring some different feature specific to your character or their magic items etc.
Generally, spells only do what they say they do. If the spell does not state that the caster is immune to its effects, they are not immune. If you cast Fireball and were within the range you would also take damage. If you cast darkness, you can't see in that darkness without some ability that lets you see in magical darkness.
Now, if you have some sort of class feature or other ability that grants you immunity that's one thing. But you aren't automatically immune to your own aoe spells unless they state otherwise.
You could also, if you needed to, just stop concentrating on the web and escape it immediately. Though that would also release any enemies in the area.
Thanks for the clarification, i don't know why i wanted to treat Web differently compared with those spells lol. Sometime happen to have some idea that we won't admit it won't work and so we forget the basic lol.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If the caster of Web cast it including his own space in the web and he not gonna go out of it before the beginning of his next turn, when this next turn come, he have to roll a dextery save or be rastrained also? Or he is immune to the effect of his own Web spell? And also, the difficult terrain apply to him or not (about this i think yes, the difficult terrain apply anyway, but i'm not 100% sure)?
Im kinda sure im just missing some general rule that clarify this, but i can't remind which one lol. Thanks to anyone who will make it clear for me.
Generally, spells only do what they say they do. If the spell does not state that the caster is immune to its effects, they are not immune. If you cast Fireball and were within the range you would also take damage. If you cast darkness, you can't see in that darkness without some ability that lets you see in magical darkness.
Now, if you have some sort of class feature or other ability that grants you immunity that's one thing. But you aren't automatically immune to your own aoe spells unless they state otherwise.
You could also, if you needed to, just stop concentrating on the web and escape it immediately. Though that would also release any enemies in the area.
Some spells like Slow will allow you to specify which creatures in the area are affected. But if the spell doesn't specifically state exceptions to who is effected, all creatures including the caster are affected, barring some different feature specific to your character or their magic items etc.
Thanks
Thanks for the clarification, i don't know why i wanted to treat Web differently compared with those spells lol. Sometime happen to have some idea that we won't admit it won't work and so we forget the basic lol.