looking for a general consensus here. If I cast a minor illusion but leave the range of the spell, does the spell cancel or will the illusion stay until duration is expired
here is what the first line of the description states.
"You create a sound or an image of an object within range that lasts for the duration. The illusion also ends if you dismiss it as an action or cast this spell again."
I am under the opinion that it would/should stay up.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Believe in yourself, even if nobody else does." ~ Sasquatch
looking for a general consensus here. If I cast a minor illusion but leave the range of the spell, does the spell cancel or will the illusion stay until duration is expired
here is what the first line of the description states.
"You create a sound or an image of an object within range that lasts for the duration. The illusion also ends if you dismiss it as an action or cast this spell again."
I am under the opinion that it would/should stay up.
"Believe in yourself, even if nobody else does." ~ Sasquatch
You are correct, the spell will remain even if you leave the casting range.
That's from Basic Rules, Chapter 10: Spellcasting.