I know it says Tortles cannot wear any armor but if I am missing a limb and my shell is busted can I still use the Arcane Armor granted by an Armorer Artificer?
Well, strictly speaking, your shell can't get busted, so you're out of RAW territory anyway...
RAW I'd say no. Arcane Armour explicitly references the armour that you are wearing, which Tortles can't wear.
If it were my table, I'd classify your shell as armour (that gets upgraded). Other than being free, it's not like the shell provides any benefit over other armour in this situation and you're probably at a disadvantage for using the the shell (as opposed to being another race and grabbing heavy armour), so I'd be fine with that. I'd just say that the donning/doffing rule doesn't apply for obvious reasons. Still, that's my table rules, and I doubt I'm your DM. Ask them, but I think it's reasonable.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Well, strictly speaking, your shell can't get busted, so you're out of RAW territory anyway...
RAW I'd say no. Arcane Armour explicitly references the armour that you are wearing, which Tortles can't wear.
If it were my table, I'd classify your shell as armour (that gets upgraded). Other than being free, it's not like the shell provides any benefit over other armour in this situation and you're probably at a disadvantage for using the the shell (as opposed to being another race and grabbing heavy armour), so I'd be fine with that. I'd just say that the donning/doffing rule doesn't apply for obvious reasons. Still, that's my table rules, and I doubt I'm your DM. Ask them, but I think it's reasonable.
I know it says Tortles cannot wear any armor but if I am missing a limb and my shell is busted can I still use the Arcane Armor granted by an Armorer Artificer?
DruidVSAdventure
Check out my Homebrew Class The Evoker
Well, strictly speaking, your shell can't get busted, so you're out of RAW territory anyway...
RAW I'd say no. Arcane Armour explicitly references the armour that you are wearing, which Tortles can't wear.
If it were my table, I'd classify your shell as armour (that gets upgraded). Other than being free, it's not like the shell provides any benefit over other armour in this situation and you're probably at a disadvantage for using the the shell (as opposed to being another race and grabbing heavy armour), so I'd be fine with that. I'd just say that the donning/doffing rule doesn't apply for obvious reasons. Still, that's my table rules, and I doubt I'm your DM. Ask them, but I think it's reasonable.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Ok, cool thx for the help.
DruidVSAdventure
Check out my Homebrew Class The Evoker
RAW I don't think they could, but it would be kind of cool to have a tortle armorer attaching stuff to their shell rather than building a whole suit.
I think you'd have to talk with your DM about whether its okay at your table and work out the details.