Quickened spell allows you to cast a cantrip and a leveled spell that is 1 action in the same turn. war magic and Improved War magic allows you to make 1 weapon attack after casting a cantrip/ spell. My question is, how exactly does this interaction work?
The rules for casting two spells in a turn are always in play, regardless of Quickened Spell. The rule is that if you cast a spell as a Bonus Action, you can only cast a spell with your Action if it is a cantrip.
War Magic and Improved War Magic allow you to make one weapon attack as a Bonus Action if you also cast a Cantrip (War Magic) or any spell (Improved War Magic). In the case of a quickened spell, if you quicken a spell to be a Bonus Action, then you cannot use the War Magic or Improved War Magic ability because you would have already used your Bonus Action.
Quickened metamagic allows you to change the casting time of a spell from 1 action to 1 bonus action. War Magic says "when you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action." They're basically contradictory, so it's about resource use, ie how many sorcery points do you have -- I assume you're using the metamagic adept feat, since if you've got Improved War Magic, that's not enough levels left to get metamagic from a multiclass. War Magic is free, so you can do it every time, but if you have the metamagic adept feat you can only pull this trick once per long rest. You can't use both at once, since war magic requires use of your action for the spellcasting.
Quickened metamagic: 2 weapon attacks with your action (increasing as you gain levels in fighter, max of 4), quickened spell as bonus action. 2 sorcery points used.
War magic: 1 cantrip, 1 weapon attack as bonus action. No expendable resources used.
Quickened spell allows you to cast a cantrip and a leveled spell that is 1 action in the same turn. war magic and Improved War magic allows you to make 1 weapon attack after casting a cantrip/ spell. My question is, how exactly does this interaction work?
The rules for casting two spells in a turn are always in play, regardless of Quickened Spell. The rule is that if you cast a spell as a Bonus Action, you can only cast a spell with your Action if it is a cantrip.
War Magic and Improved War Magic allow you to make one weapon attack as a Bonus Action if you also cast a Cantrip (War Magic) or any spell (Improved War Magic). In the case of a quickened spell, if you quicken a spell to be a Bonus Action, then you cannot use the War Magic or Improved War Magic ability because you would have already used your Bonus Action.
Quickened metamagic allows you to change the casting time of a spell from 1 action to 1 bonus action. War Magic says "when you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action." They're basically contradictory, so it's about resource use, ie how many sorcery points do you have -- I assume you're using the metamagic adept feat, since if you've got Improved War Magic, that's not enough levels left to get metamagic from a multiclass. War Magic is free, so you can do it every time, but if you have the metamagic adept feat you can only pull this trick once per long rest. You can't use both at once, since war magic requires use of your action for the spellcasting.
Quickened metamagic: 2 weapon attacks with your action (increasing as you gain levels in fighter, max of 4), quickened spell as bonus action. 2 sorcery points used.
War magic: 1 cantrip, 1 weapon attack as bonus action. No expendable resources used.
Improved war magic: 1 spell, 1 weapon attack.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep