When a dragon uses his breath weapon does he also get to use his bite and claw attacks. I wouldn't think so but I don't know also if you answer could you tell me where I can find this rule. Thanks in advance.
Anything listed under an the "Action" category of a monster takes a full action to do. Dragon Breath is listed as an action; Multiattack, Bite, and Claw are all listed as another type of action. Accordingly, because a dragon only gets one action, it can choose to use that action to use its Breath Attack OR it can choose to Multiattack, but it cannot do both as both cost an action.
There are a few examples of creatures that an do a Multi-attack with a special action. I think some dragons get a Frightful Presence as part of their Multi-attack.
But it always says so in the description of the Multi-attack
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
When a dragon uses his breath weapon does he also get to use his bite and claw attacks. I wouldn't think so but I don't know also if you answer could you tell me where I can find this rule. Thanks in advance.
Anything listed under an the "Action" category of a monster takes a full action to do. Dragon Breath is listed as an action; Multiattack, Bite, and Claw are all listed as another type of action. Accordingly, because a dragon only gets one action, it can choose to use that action to use its Breath Attack OR it can choose to Multiattack, but it cannot do both as both cost an action.
Thanks for ruling. I appreciate it!
There are a few examples of creatures that an do a Multi-attack with a special action. I think some dragons get a Frightful Presence as part of their Multi-attack.
But it always says so in the description of the Multi-attack