Thoughts? Player casts green flame blade, but it’s a magic damping area. Do they still get an attack? Or was their action wasted trying to cast the spell
Thoughts? Player casts green flame blade, but it’s a magic damping area. Do they still get an attack? Or was their action wasted trying to cast the spell
This is pretty subjective but I'd be inclined to let them make one attack, since I think that's really meant to be the somatic component of casting the spell. However, they've still used their action to cast a spell (the Magic action in 2024 rules), not the Attack action. So they would not get to make another attack if they have Extra Attack and no other thing that requires taking the Attack action first would be available.
Thoughts? Player casts green flame blade, but it’s a magic damping area. Do they still get an attack? Or was their action wasted trying to cast the spell
RAW = No.
RAI = DM call.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Thoughts? Player casts green flame blade, but it’s a magic damping area. Do they still get an attack? Or was their action wasted trying to cast the spell
Mostly DM dependent. I'd let them make a basic attack of some kind, but I can see situations where another DM might not.
This is pretty subjective but I'd be inclined to let them make one attack, since I think that's really meant to be the somatic component of casting the spell. However, they've still used their action to cast a spell (the Magic action in 2024 rules), not the Attack action. So they would not get to make another attack if they have Extra Attack and no other thing that requires taking the Attack action first would be available.
pronouns: he/she/they
RAW = No.
RAI = DM call.