If I have a 6th level blade singer does it matter what weapon I attack with in what order when I have 2 weapons. For example can I weild a rapier in one hand and shadow blade in the other ? Attack with rapier using booming blade cantrip then attack with shadow bade for my second attack. Would I get all bonuses on each attack then attack with shadow blade as my bonus action attack?
As long as you make an attack with the rapier as part of the Attack action (the cantrip is part of that action), you can use your bonus action to attack with the shadow blade; however, in order to do this you would need the Two Weapon Fighting feat because a rapier is not a light weapon.
As a matter of fact, yes - with Extra Attack, you can attack with the weapon held in one hand on one attack, and the weapon held in the other, and get all your relevant bonuses to both just fine. And since Bladesingers let you combine cantrips with Extra Attack, you can Booming Blade on the physical weapon attack.
The one downside is that Booming Blade has a somatic component - so since both your hands are occupied, you'd either need a way to treat your sword as an arcane focus (thus allowing you to perform its somatic component with that hand) or the War Caster feat. Alternatively, you can drop your Shadow Blade as a non-action on your turn, Booming Blade with your first attack, BA resummon your Shadow Blade to your hand, and then make your second attack with that - rinse and repeat.
The one downside is that Booming Blade has a somatic component - so since both your hands are occupied, you'd either need a way to treat your sword as an arcane focus (thus allowing you to perform its somatic component with that hand) or the War Caster feat. Alternatively, you can drop your Shadow Blade as a non-action on your turn, Booming Blade with your first attack, BA resummon your Shadow Blade to your hand, and then make your second attack with that - rinse and repeat.
This is incorrect. You are holding your material component (your weapon) so that can be the same hand as the one making the somatic gestures. Also, because the material component has a specified cost value, you cannot use an arcane focus to fulfill that component.
The one downside is that Booming Blade has a somatic component - so since both your hands are occupied, you'd either need a way to treat your sword as an arcane focus (thus allowing you to perform its somatic component with that hand) or the War Caster feat. Alternatively, you can drop your Shadow Blade as a non-action on your turn, Booming Blade with your first attack, BA resummon your Shadow Blade to your hand, and then make your second attack with that - rinse and repeat.
This is incorrect. You are holding your material component (your weapon) so that can be the same hand as the one making the somatic gestures. Also, because the material component has a specified cost value, you cannot use an arcane focus to fulfill that component.
As long as you make an attack with the rapier as part of the Attack action (the cantrip is part of that action), you can use your bonus action to attack with the shadow blade; however, in order to do this you would need the Two Weapon Fighting feat because a rapier is not a light weapon.
You don't need your bonus action at all if you're just using Extra Attack (one for rapier BB, one for the SB attack.) Even though you're using two weapons and one of them isn't Light, it only needs Dual Wielder if you're trying to get the bonus attack.
You don't need your bonus action at all if you're just using Extra Attack (one for rapier BB, one for the SB attack.) Even though you're using two weapons and one of them isn't Light, it only needs Dual Wielder if you're trying to get the bonus attack.
Would I get all bonuses on each attack then attack with shadow blade as my bonus action attack?
Correct, but their question was about getting all of their bonuses and then also getting the bonus action attack.
So I know you cant use a bonus action for an off hand attack with these cantrips.
When you hit level 6, Im thinking you can do a regular attack and replace the second one with a cantrip, and because you used the attack action, you can also attack with the offhand right? https://9apps.ooo/
So I know you cant use a bonus action for an off hand attack with these cantrips.
When you hit level 6, Im thinking you can do a regular attack and replace the second one with a cantrip, and because you used the attack action, you can also attack with the offhand right?
Yes - that's what I was saying;
When you hit 6 and have Extra Attack, you can choose which weapon you want to use with each of those attacks - they can both be with the same one, or each with a different one. And of course, normally, you can't do the Attack action to trigger Extra Attack and a cantrip at the same time, but Bladesinger (and the new EK later this year) get to break that rule.
sry i'm pretty late on this... but could you explain exactly why this works?
this part:"When you take the Attack action and attack with alightmelee weapon that you’re holding in one hand," triggers this part right? "you can use a bonus action to attack with a different lightmelee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand."
using booming blade on a rapier doens't make it light. so the condition is not fulfilled, which means you can't use your bonus action to attack with shadow blade
sry i'm pretty late on this... but could you explain exactly why this works?
this part:"When you take the Attack action and attack with alightmelee weapon that you’re holding in one hand," triggers this part right? "you can use a bonus action to attack with a different lightmelee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand."
using booming blade on a rapier doens't make it light. so the condition is not fulfilled, which means you can't use your bonus action to attack with shadow blade
It would require that you have the 2014 version of the Dual Wielder feat, which removes the requirement that the weapons be Light. If you had that feat, it would work.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If I have a 6th level blade singer does it matter what weapon I attack with in what order when I have 2 weapons. For example can I weild a rapier in one hand and shadow blade in the other ? Attack with rapier using booming blade cantrip then attack with shadow bade for my second attack. Would I get all bonuses on each attack then attack with shadow blade as my bonus action attack?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/combat#TwoWeaponFighting
As long as you make an attack with the rapier as part of the Attack action (the cantrip is part of that action), you can use your bonus action to attack with the shadow blade; however, in order to do this you would need the Two Weapon Fighting feat because a rapier is not a light weapon.
As a matter of fact, yes - with Extra Attack, you can attack with the weapon held in one hand on one attack, and the weapon held in the other, and get all your relevant bonuses to both just fine. And since Bladesingers let you combine cantrips with Extra Attack, you can Booming Blade on the physical weapon attack.
The one downside is that Booming Blade has a somatic component - so since both your hands are occupied, you'd either need a way to treat your sword as an arcane focus (thus allowing you to perform its somatic component with that hand) or the War Caster feat. Alternatively, you can drop your Shadow Blade as a non-action on your turn, Booming Blade with your first attack, BA resummon your Shadow Blade to your hand, and then make your second attack with that - rinse and repeat.
This is incorrect. You are holding your material component (your weapon) so that can be the same hand as the one making the somatic gestures. Also, because the material component has a specified cost value, you cannot use an arcane focus to fulfill that component.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/spellcasting#MaterialM
Right, the sword is the material component, thanks for that.
You don't need your bonus action at all if you're just using Extra Attack (one for rapier BB, one for the SB attack.) Even though you're using two weapons and one of them isn't Light, it only needs Dual Wielder if you're trying to get the bonus attack.
Correct, but their question was about getting all of their bonuses and then also getting the bonus action attack.
Sure, but I thought it was worthwhile to let them know they could get attacks with both weapons without TWF.
So I know you cant use a bonus action for an off hand attack with these cantrips.
When you hit level 6, Im thinking you can do a regular attack and replace the second one with a cantrip, and because you used the attack action, you can also attack with the offhand right? https://9apps.ooo/
Yes - that's what I was saying;
When you hit 6 and have Extra Attack, you can choose which weapon you want to use with each of those attacks - they can both be with the same one, or each with a different one.
And of course, normally, you can't do the Attack action to trigger Extra Attack and a cantrip at the same time, but Bladesinger (and the new EK later this year) get to break that rule.
sry i'm pretty late on this... but could you explain exactly why this works?
this part:"When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand," triggers this part right? "you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand."
using booming blade on a rapier doens't make it light. so the condition is not fulfilled, which means you can't use your bonus action to attack with shadow blade
It would require that you have the 2014 version of the Dual Wielder feat, which removes the requirement that the weapons be Light. If you had that feat, it would work.
pronouns: he/she/they