I remember in an episode of Critical Role Campaign 1 where in a battle (don't remember which one, but around the 50ish episodes) Sam used Scanlans War caster feat at a range to cast a spell (not counterspell). Am I imagining this, is this how it can work, or perhaps a homebrew rule Matt allowed?
Might be easier if you get the specific instance. Only thing I could find was in The Kill Box in regards to rolling concentration checks with advantage. I’m not aware of any time it was used at range. Opportunity attacks are only when an opponent leaves your reach.
I remember in an episode of Critical Role Campaign 1 where in a battle (don't remember which one, but around the 50ish episodes) Sam used Scanlans War caster feat at a range to cast a spell (not counterspell). Am I imagining this, is this how it can work, or perhaps a homebrew rule Matt allowed?
Might be easier if you get the specific instance. Only thing I could find was in The Kill Box in regards to rolling concentration checks with advantage. I’m not aware of any time it was used at range. Opportunity attacks are only when an opponent leaves your reach.
War caster is also relevant when casting a spell with weapons and/or shield in your hands.
Warcaster allows you to cast a spell targeting one individual that provokes an attack of opportunity, this maybe what you are thinking.