Pre-Build Character question (from the D&D Starter Kit)
Acolyte Wizard - The PHB says the Wizard knows 3 cantrips at level one. But the character sheet for this character has them starting with four cantrips. Am I missing something here? Or does the "known spells = Int Modifer + Level" apply to cantrips as well?
Second Question:
Does casting a cantrip take an action, or can you cast a spell, then cast a cantrip as a bonus action?
If you are playing a High Elf they automatically get 1 free wizard cantrip, check your race (I think the pre-build wizard is a high elf). Also, each cantrip acts like any other spell and has a casting time of its own. Check each spell to see what its casting time is. You can split up your turn with a cantrip and a higher level spell, but only if one is a bonus action and one is an action (doesn't matter which is which). As a wizard you get a spellbook which has 6 spells of your choice at 1st level (all 1st level spells) and at each level you gain 2 spells to your spellbook. You can prepare your spells each day based on your Int Modifier + Level out of the spells from your spellbook (prepare means you can change them each day during your long rest).
Also, each cantrip acts like any other spell and has a casting time of its own. Check each spell to see what its casting time is. You can split up your turn with a cantrip and a higher level spell, but only if one is a bonus action and one is an action (doesn't matter which is which).
This is incorrect. Unless you house rule otherwise, if you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only spell you can cast as an action is a cantrip.
"A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action"
Thanks for correcting me. It think that this is why there are only two cantrip that have a bonus action as its normal casting time, Magic Stone and Shillelagh. I also think these two are intended to involve an attack roll instead of another spell.
Pre-Build Character question (from the D&D Starter Kit)
Acolyte Wizard - The PHB says the Wizard knows 3 cantrips at level one. But the character sheet for this character has them starting with four cantrips. Am I missing something here? Or does the "known spells = Int Modifer + Level" apply to cantrips as well?
Second Question:
Does casting a cantrip take an action, or can you cast a spell, then cast a cantrip as a bonus action?
Thanks!
If you are playing a High Elf they automatically get 1 free wizard cantrip, check your race (I think the pre-build wizard is a high elf). Also, each cantrip acts like any other spell and has a casting time of its own. Check each spell to see what its casting time is. You can split up your turn with a cantrip and a higher level spell, but only if one is a bonus action and one is an action (doesn't matter which is which). As a wizard you get a spellbook which has 6 spells of your choice at 1st level (all 1st level spells) and at each level you gain 2 spells to your spellbook. You can prepare your spells each day based on your Int Modifier + Level out of the spells from your spellbook (prepare means you can change them each day during your long rest).
Ah hah - yup, that makes much more sense now. Thanks.
This is incorrect. Unless you house rule otherwise, if you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only spell you can cast as an action is a cantrip.
The bonus action writing says
Thanks for correcting me. It think that this is why there are only two cantrip that have a bonus action as its normal casting time, Magic Stone and Shillelagh. I also think these two are intended to involve an attack roll instead of another spell.
Yeah, most bonus action spells improve the attack action.