Hi there, I have not played for about 18 years and last played with skills and powers advanced second edition. I am getting back into it and just learning the new rules. I have read many threads and forums about this combination but they all dealt with weather you can apply the -5 attack for +10 damage to the bonus d4 butt of weapon attack for 2 HND polearm master. My question is about the bonus attack for the critical hit. The GWM feat offers a bonus attack if you score a critical or reduce an opponent to 0 HP. If the bonus attack d4 from polearm master is a roll 20 and a critical hit, does it then give you a further bonus attack because of the GWM feat bonus attack on a critical. Does this new bonus attack ( normal full D10 attack of ..say...halberd) then get the additional d4 attack again. Seems rediculous but someone has asked the question. Thanks in advance and please go easy on me....it's been nearly 20 years hey
You only get one bonus action. If you crit or kill and spend a bonus action to make another attack, your bonus action is spent. If you take the Attack action and use the Polearm Master feat to make a bonus action attack, your bonus action is spent. PHB, Chapter 9: Combat, The Order of Combat, Your Turn, Bonus Actions reads "You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available."
Hi there, I have not played for about 18 years and last played with skills and powers advanced second edition. I am getting back into it and just learning the new rules. I have read many threads and forums about this combination but they all dealt with weather you can apply the -5 attack for +10 damage to the bonus d4 butt of weapon attack for 2 HND polearm master. My question is about the bonus attack for the critical hit. The GWM feat offers a bonus attack if you score a critical or reduce an opponent to 0 HP. If the bonus attack d4 from polearm master is a roll 20 and a critical hit, does it then give you a further bonus attack because of the GWM feat bonus attack on a critical. Does this new bonus attack ( normal full D10 attack of ..say...halberd) then get the additional d4 attack again. Seems rediculous but someone has asked the question. Thanks in advance and please go easy on me....it's been nearly 20 years hey
You only get one bonus action. If you crit or kill and spend a bonus action to make another attack, your bonus action is spent. If you take the Attack action and use the Polearm Master feat to make a bonus action attack, your bonus action is spent. PHB, Chapter 9: Combat, The Order of Combat, Your Turn, Bonus Actions reads "You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available."
As stated, only one bonus action. Here is the rule:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat#BonusActions