Human. Male. Possibly. Don't be a divider. My characters' backgrounds are written like instruction manuals rather than stories. My opinion and preferences don't mean you're wrong. I am 99.7603% convinced that the digital dice are messing with me. I roll high when nobody's looking and low when anyone else can see.🎲 “It's a bit early to be thinking about an epitaph. No?” will be my epitaph.
Dash is an action, and characters generally only get one action per turn. Fighters can Action Surge to get a second action, which is one way you could dash and still take another action in the same turn.
Can a character use a standard action after using Dash?
The way I understand it is that "Dash" is a standard action itself. You trade your action for extra movement.
There are situations that allow Dash as a secondary action or a reaction.
EDIT: There's a feat (iirc) that allows one to "shove" when dashing. So, exceptions exist but they are specific.
Human. Male. Possibly. Don't be a divider.
My characters' backgrounds are written like instruction manuals rather than stories. My opinion and preferences don't mean you're wrong.
I am 99.7603% convinced that the digital dice are messing with me. I roll high when nobody's looking and low when anyone else can see.🎲
“It's a bit early to be thinking about an epitaph. No?” will be my epitaph.
Dash is an action, and characters generally only get one action per turn. Fighters can Action Surge to get a second action, which is one way you could dash and still take another action in the same turn.
The best exception to the rule is the Rogue's Cunning Action ability, that way you can Dash as a Bonus Action.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master