Hey folks. Here's a question I have regarding the sorcerer's Quickened metamagic option. The PHB rules state that when you cast a spell using your bonus action, you cannot cast another spell using your action (other than a cantrip). Does a spell cast using a Ready Action abide within these limitations (for example, is it possible for a character to Quicken a spell and follow it up by readying a second spell in the same turn?) ?
Thanks, just a brain fart;)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)
Page 202 of the phb actually states "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action", meaning that you cannot ready a spell of 1st level or higher because you've already cast a spell this turn. Also, page 193 of the phb states, "when you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with you're reaction when the trigger occurs". This means that you are still using you're action to cast the spell, but holding its energy to release when the trigger occurs.
Hey folks. Here's a question I have regarding the sorcerer's Quickened metamagic option. The PHB rules state that when you cast a spell using your bonus action, you cannot cast another spell using your action (other than a cantrip). Does a spell cast using a Ready Action abide within these limitations (for example, is it possible for a character to Quicken a spell and follow it up by readying a second spell in the same turn?) ?
Only if the spell you are readying is a cantrip. Also remember that when you Ready a spell, you must concentrate on it until it is released, even if it is not a concentration spell. So if you already have a concentration spell going, readying a spell will automatically end your current concentration spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Does Quickened Spell allow a sorcerer to cast two spells a round of 1st level or higher?
No, the sorcerer must follow the rule for casting a spell as a bonus action and casting another spell on the same turn; the other spell must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Page 202 of the phb actually states "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action", meaning that you cannot ready a spell of 1st level or higher because you've already cast a spell this turn. Also, page 193 of the phb states, "when you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with you're reaction when the trigger occurs". This means that you are still using you're action to cast the spell, but holding its energy to release when the trigger occurs.
Makes sense. Thanks!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey folks. Here's a question I have regarding the sorcerer's Quickened metamagic option. The PHB rules state that when you cast a spell using your bonus action, you cannot cast another spell using your action (other than a cantrip). Does a spell cast using a Ready Action abide within these limitations (for example, is it possible for a character to Quicken a spell and follow it up by readying a second spell in the same turn?) ?
Thanks, just a brain fart;)
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)
Page 202 of the phb actually states "you can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action", meaning that you cannot ready a spell of 1st level or higher because you've already cast a spell this turn. Also, page 193 of the phb states, "when you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with you're reaction when the trigger occurs". This means that you are still using you're action to cast the spell, but holding its energy to release when the trigger occurs.
There are also a few ways to actually cast another spell, that rule only applies to Bonus Action/regular action.
Specifically, you can use Action Surge to cast another leveled spell.
Only if the spell you are readying is a cantrip. Also remember that when you Ready a spell, you must concentrate on it until it is released, even if it is not a concentration spell. So if you already have a concentration spell going, readying a spell will automatically end your current concentration spell.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
My understanding is that only works if your other Action was used to cast a leveled spell, meaning you'd need to Quicken the cantrip.
From the D&DB Sage Advice Compendium:
Does Quickened Spell allow a sorcerer to cast two spells a round of 1st level or higher?
No, the sorcerer must follow the rule for casting a spell as a bonus action and casting another spell on the same turn; the other spell must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Makes sense. Thanks!
Hi there! I'm a Christian musician based in Canada :)