do druids need to roll for effectiveness when they use their wildshape ability? I know for shape-shifting spells you do but wildshape isn't a spell per-say. Haven't played a druid before and I can't find anything that says one way or the other. Gm preference? Or is there an actual rule?
That also isn't right. Polymorph and True Polymorph do not require any rolls if cast on a willing target (an unwilling target can make a saving throw to avoid the effect, but a willing target doesn't have to.) Did you have other spells in mind?
do druids need to roll for effectiveness when they use their wildshape ability? I know for shape-shifting spells you do but wildshape isn't a spell per-say. Haven't played a druid before and I can't find anything that says one way or the other. Gm preference? Or is there an actual rule?
The rules for wildshape are fully described at https://www.dndbeyond.com/classes/druid#WildShape-167 . There are no required rolls mentioned in the rules.
That also isn't right. Polymorph and True Polymorph do not require any rolls if cast on a willing target (an unwilling target can make a saving throw to avoid the effect, but a willing target doesn't have to.) Did you have other spells in mind?
I'm playing a Druid.
You don't have to roll for "effectiveness" when using wildshape, you "are" the animal in everything but your mind.