Throwing the weapon and having it explode is it’s own action it isn’t something you can tack onto the attack action. When you use its exploding ability you don’t have to make an attack roll you just pick a spot in range that you can see and it hits then anything in the area makes a dex save to avoid damage. Honestly you shouldn’t throw that weapon unless it is just to have it explode.
if you throw the weapon and it is caught you can’t make it explode or return to you that is only if you use the exploding action.
Per the item's description it seems that when you hurl it at a point and cause it to explode, every creature in its defined radius sphere is forced to make a Dex save either taking the full defined damage or half on a success. So, there wouldn't be a separate damage roll as if you are swinging the hammer in melee, just the 6d6 fire dmg listed in the description. The creatures' AC is irrelevant because the damage is either full or half based on the Dex save.
But how would something/someone catch the hammer (or any weapon?)? Unless I've overlooked that rule all these years (very possible?!), I still wouldn't think that should interfere with its ability to explode while still part of your action
The damage happens because of the explosion, so you can't roll for the damage until the explosion happens.
As for hitting a 20+AC? We don't know your character which the answer heavily relies upon because you are asking for an answer without providing the formula. Having said that, a paladin has very good saving throws because of their Aura of Protection even if they dump Dex so having them succeed and taking half damage is a very real possibility. Another thing to think about is that creating the explosion is an Action and getting the weapon back is an Action. You are essentially spending two turns to deal 6d6 damage, which can be halved.
As for the last question, there are a couple things. Firstly, if you choose to cause the explosion then the weapon is gone. The text says "the weapon vanishes in an explosion" so no matter what an enemy does the weapon is gone. After that you can spend an action to make it reapper. Secondly, if an enemy has the weapon, such as disarming you and picking it up, before you get around to make the explosion then you can't cause the explosion as the weapon says you hurl it. You can't hurl something you don't have.
So, the impression I get is that everyone thinks I can just throw it up to 120ft away and it auto tracks to my desired location and explodes forcing the DEX damage save?
So, the impression I get is that everyone thinks I can just throw it up to 120ft away and it auto tracks to my desired location and explodes forcing the DEX damage save?
Yep. It's kinda like how with Fireball you choose a point and the explosion happens at that exact point. There isn't anything else that needs to be done - no ability checks, no attack rolls, just a straight up blast of damage that forces a saving throw where you want it to happen.
I used the Sunforger for the first time last game. I threw it at a flying group of Griffons, I aimed at one but, had it explode and hit 5 in total.
Should I have been able to roll weapon damage for the throw and THEN have it explode?
If I choose to aim it "at a point" I can see, is it an easier shot then overcoming AC? Example: I chuck it at the ground 5ft from the 20+ AC Paladin.
Based on a question asked in another thread. If the weapon was caught by an enemy, could I then make it explode and return to me on my next action?
Throwing the weapon and having it explode is it’s own action it isn’t something you can tack onto the attack action. When you use its exploding ability you don’t have to make an attack roll you just pick a spot in range that you can see and it hits then anything in the area makes a dex save to avoid damage. Honestly you shouldn’t throw that weapon unless it is just to have it explode.
if you throw the weapon and it is caught you can’t make it explode or return to you that is only if you use the exploding action.
Per the item's description it seems that when you hurl it at a point and cause it to explode, every creature in its defined radius sphere is forced to make a Dex save either taking the full defined damage or half on a success. So, there wouldn't be a separate damage roll as if you are swinging the hammer in melee, just the 6d6 fire dmg listed in the description. The creatures' AC is irrelevant because the damage is either full or half based on the Dex save.
But how would something/someone catch the hammer (or any weapon?)? Unless I've overlooked that rule all these years (very possible?!), I still wouldn't think that should interfere with its ability to explode while still part of your action
Boldly go
The damage happens because of the explosion, so you can't roll for the damage until the explosion happens.
As for hitting a 20+AC? We don't know your character which the answer heavily relies upon because you are asking for an answer without providing the formula. Having said that, a paladin has very good saving throws because of their Aura of Protection even if they dump Dex so having them succeed and taking half damage is a very real possibility. Another thing to think about is that creating the explosion is an Action and getting the weapon back is an Action. You are essentially spending two turns to deal 6d6 damage, which can be halved.
As for the last question, there are a couple things. Firstly, if you choose to cause the explosion then the weapon is gone. The text says "the weapon vanishes in an explosion" so no matter what an enemy does the weapon is gone. After that you can spend an action to make it reapper. Secondly, if an enemy has the weapon, such as disarming you and picking it up, before you get around to make the explosion then you can't cause the explosion as the weapon says you hurl it. You can't hurl something you don't have.
So, the impression I get is that everyone thinks I can just throw it up to 120ft away and it auto tracks to my desired location and explodes forcing the DEX damage save?
Yep. It's kinda like how with Fireball you choose a point and the explosion happens at that exact point. There isn't anything else that needs to be done - no ability checks, no attack rolls, just a straight up blast of damage that forces a saving throw where you want it to happen.
Well, I'm fine with that but, now to see what my DM thinks.