I have a question. In my campaign, I have a level 5 fire genasi monk. Obviously, with being a fire genasi, he gets the cantrip Produce Flame as a spell-like ability. He has asked me if he can combine the 2d8 damage with the monks Flurry of Blows ability. I was skeptical, since this is very overpowered. I am willing to let him have it, as long as it is legal. I saw that the spell stops once you attack with it, and I also saw that it was a ranged attack. Can he use it to buff his Flurry of blows?
He can if you say he can, but if you want the rules as written, you did the research yourself. You get an Action and sometimes a bonus action. Let's say he lights his hand on fire, then walks into a 10x10 room containing an orc sitting on a chest. If he uses the flame to attack, that's the "Cast a Spell" action. And monks only get to use Flurry of Blows when they've taken the "Attack" action.
A level 5 monk with produce flame can either throw fire at someone, or punch him in face four times.
If he just wants his fists to look like they're on fire for cinematic purposes, that would be fine with me. But you'd have to be really clear with the player that it was purely cosmetic.
If that is something they want to do, you could make it a feat or bake/change it into a core feature of their subclass? But otherwise, what TimCurtin mentioned above.
I would allow one action to cast the spell and once he did this, one attack per round for the duration of the of the spell would do the normal martial arts damage but of type fire. None of these would count as 'attacking' with the spell, he could still throw it, ending the spell early.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a question. In my campaign, I have a level 5 fire genasi monk. Obviously, with being a fire genasi, he gets the cantrip Produce Flame as a spell-like ability. He has asked me if he can combine the 2d8 damage with the monks Flurry of Blows ability. I was skeptical, since this is very overpowered. I am willing to let him have it, as long as it is legal. I saw that the spell stops once you attack with it, and I also saw that it was a ranged attack. Can he use it to buff his Flurry of blows?
He can if you say he can, but if you want the rules as written, you did the research yourself. You get an Action and sometimes a bonus action. Let's say he lights his hand on fire, then walks into a 10x10 room containing an orc sitting on a chest. If he uses the flame to attack, that's the "Cast a Spell" action. And monks only get to use Flurry of Blows when they've taken the "Attack" action.
A level 5 monk with produce flame can either throw fire at someone, or punch him in face four times.
If he just wants his fists to look like they're on fire for cinematic purposes, that would be fine with me. But you'd have to be really clear with the player that it was purely cosmetic.
Thanks!
If that is something they want to do, you could make it a feat or bake/change it into a core feature of their subclass? But otherwise, what TimCurtin mentioned above.
If they want to play Zuko or just likes throwing fire around, point them to the sun souls subclass in XGtE.
I would allow one action to cast the spell and once he did this, one attack per round for the duration of the of the spell would do the normal martial arts damage but of type fire. None of these would count as 'attacking' with the spell, he could still throw it, ending the spell early.