One of the caster’s arms turns into a 10 ft long tentacle.
The caster targets a creature in range and it must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or it takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage and be restrained by the tentacles until the spell ends. A creature that starts its turn already restrained by the tentacles takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage.
A creature restrained by the tentacles can use its action to make a Strength or Dexterity check (its choice) against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.
******************************
It's exactly the same as Evard's but one tentacle. My thought was that maybe Bigby's Hand already covers this but that spell is 5th level. So maybe it has a place.
What level would you make it? Would you allow it? Any other comments appreciated.
3rd level, But, you need more details about how you make attacks with it: is it a melee spell attack? a melee weapon attack? what do you use for the attack roll?
The "to hit" would be the save, just like how Evard's Black Tentacle works.
However, it could be a melee spell attack. So, after a successful hit the creature takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage and is restrained by the tentacle until the spell ends. A creature that starts its turn already restrained by the tentacle takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage. A creature restrained by the tentacle can use its action to make a Strength or Dexterity check (its choice) against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.
Also, grapples rules for dragging creatures could apply.
Was thinking of having it scale in some way - extra d6 per slot level. but maybe that's too powerful?
If you have any suggestions then I'd love to hear them.
Howdy,
Just wondering what thoughts are for this homebrew spell:
Black Tentacle
Concentration, CT: 1 Action, R: self (10 ft tentacle), V,S,M, Comp: tiny octopus arm, D: 1 Minute
One of the caster’s arms turns into a 10 ft long tentacle.
The caster targets a creature in range and it must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or it takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage and be restrained by the tentacles until the spell ends. A creature that starts its turn already restrained by the tentacles takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage.
A creature restrained by the tentacles can use its action to make a Strength or Dexterity check (its choice) against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.
******************************
It's exactly the same as Evard's but one tentacle. My thought was that maybe Bigby's Hand already covers this but that spell is 5th level. So maybe it has a place.
What level would you make it? Would you allow it? Any other comments appreciated.
Thx.
3rd level, But, you need more details about how you make attacks with it: is it a melee spell attack? a melee weapon attack? what do you use for the attack roll?
Thanks for the response.
The "to hit" would be the save, just like how Evard's Black Tentacle works.
However, it could be a melee spell attack. So, after a successful hit the creature takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage and is restrained by the tentacle until the spell ends. A creature that starts its turn already restrained by the tentacle takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage. A creature restrained by the tentacle can use its action to make a Strength or Dexterity check (its choice) against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.
Also, grapples rules for dragging creatures could apply.
Was thinking of having it scale in some way - extra d6 per slot level. but maybe that's too powerful?
If you have any suggestions then I'd love to hear them.
Cheers.