Hello there, just wanted a quick ruling here from all you experts in regards to this ridiculously impractical build I'm pondering:
tldr; How would Crimson Rite (Blood Hunter - Lycan) apply to Astral Arms (Monk - Astral Self)? Also, how would the Astral Arms function with a Manifested Echo (Fighter - Echo Knight)?
While you are transformed, you gain the following features:
Predatory Strikes.You can apply your Crimson Rite feature to your unarmed strikes as a single weapon. You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes. When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action.
Second, in regards to the Monk level 3 Astral Monk Astral Arms unarmed strike features at level 3:
Arms of the Astral Self
3rd-level Way of the Astral Self feature
You can use the spectral arms to make unarmed strikes.
When you make an unarmed strike with the arms on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal.
1. You would first need to transform into the Lycan, to then apply the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes? 2. If you applied the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes, would it continue being applied your astral arms unarmed strikes? 2b. If you summoned your Astral Arms before applying Crimson Rite, could you then apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms? 2c. Could you even apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms?
When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack.
3. Astral Arms could originate from your echo? 4. Flurry of Blows couldn't originate from your echo?
1. You would first need to transform into the Lycan, to then apply the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes? 2. If you applied the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes, would it continue being applied your astral arms unarmed strikes? 2b. If you summoned your Astral Arms before applying Crimson Rite, could you then apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms? 2c. Could you even apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms?
Because the Lycan transformation specifies that for the purposes of your Rite you treat your unarmed strikes "as a single weapon" then we can assume that when you perform your Crimson Rite you are performing it upon your body as a whole rather a single discrete weapon such as a sword. The question then is whether the Astral Arms should count as part of your body (the same weapon) or not?
Rules As Written you could argue it doesn't matter; Lycan says unarmed strikes, Astral Arms are unarmed strikes, so are also affected, but I think this is going to be up to your DM who may wish to rule that the Astral Arms are separate (since they're mystical, not a part of your own body).
3. Astral Arms could originate from your echo? 4. Flurry of Blows couldn't originate from your echo?
Yes to both; as long as you make an attack as part of an action, it can originate from your echo, but attacks from a bonus action or reaction cannot.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
1. You would first need to transform into the Lycan, to then apply the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes? 2. If you applied the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes, would it continue being applied your astral arms unarmed strikes? 2b. If you summoned your Astral Arms before applying Crimson Rite, could you then apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms? 2c. Could you even apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms?
Because the Lycan transformation specifies that for the purposes of your Rite you treat your unarmed strikes "as a single weapon" then we can assume that when you perform your Crimson Rite you are performing it upon your body as a whole rather a single discrete weapon such as a sword. The question then is whether the Astral Arms should count as part of your body (the same weapon) or not?
Rules As Written you could argue it doesn't matter; Lycan says unarmed strikes, Astral Arms are unarmed strikes, so are also affected, but I think this is going to be up to your DM who may wish to rule that the Astral Arms are separate (since they're mystical, not a part of your own body).
3. Astral Arms could originate from your echo? 4. Flurry of Blows couldn't originate from your echo?
Yes to both; as long as you make an attack as part of an action, it can originate from your echo, but attacks from a bonus action or reaction cannot.
Thank you so much! I appreciate it! I’m gonna try to regurgitate what you said and hopefully understand it better:
So, I think rules as written, the astral arms are a separate entity than your own body. Granted as you said, that could be argued. I think the most important qualifier is the rite “applies to your unarmed strikes…” and the astral arms use their own unarmed strikes, so then it circles back to if the astral arms are an extension of you or not.
If that’s right, then thank you so much again, hopefully I’m a bit smarter and more capable now lol.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello there, just wanted a quick ruling here from all you experts in regards to this ridiculously impractical build I'm pondering:
tldr; How would Crimson Rite (Blood Hunter - Lycan) apply to Astral Arms (Monk - Astral Self)? Also, how would the Astral Arms function with a Manifested Echo (Fighter - Echo Knight)?
Hybrid Transformation Features
While you are transformed, you gain the following features:
Predatory Strikes. You can apply your Crimson Rite feature to your unarmed strikes as a single weapon. You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes. When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action.
Arms of the Astral Self
3rd-level Way of the Astral Self feature
1. You would first need to transform into the Lycan, to then apply the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes?
2. If you applied the crimson rite to your unarmed strikes, would it continue being applied your astral arms unarmed strikes?
2b. If you summoned your Astral Arms before applying Crimson Rite, could you then apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms?
2c. Could you even apply the Crimson Rite to your Astral Arms?
To convolute this further, in regards to the Echo Knight Manifest Echo feature:
Manifest Echo
3rd-level Echo Knight feature
You can use the echo in the following ways:
3. Astral Arms could originate from your echo?
4. Flurry of Blows couldn't originate from your echo?
Because the Lycan transformation specifies that for the purposes of your Rite you treat your unarmed strikes "as a single weapon" then we can assume that when you perform your Crimson Rite you are performing it upon your body as a whole rather a single discrete weapon such as a sword. The question then is whether the Astral Arms should count as part of your body (the same weapon) or not?
Rules As Written you could argue it doesn't matter; Lycan says unarmed strikes, Astral Arms are unarmed strikes, so are also affected, but I think this is going to be up to your DM who may wish to rule that the Astral Arms are separate (since they're mystical, not a part of your own body).
Yes to both; as long as you make an attack as part of an action, it can originate from your echo, but attacks from a bonus action or reaction cannot.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Thank you so much! I appreciate it! I’m gonna try to regurgitate what you said and hopefully understand it better:
So, I think rules as written, the astral arms are a separate entity than your own body. Granted as you said, that could be argued. I think the most important qualifier is the rite “applies to your unarmed strikes…” and the astral arms use their own unarmed strikes, so then it circles back to if the astral arms are an extension of you or not.
If that’s right, then thank you so much again, hopefully I’m a bit smarter and more capable now lol.