If for my main attack, I choose to manifest and throw the soul knife, do I get to remanifest another soul knife for my second attack? I'm suggesting a scenarios
Main action: 2 x thrown soulknife attacks(1d6)
Bonus action: 1x off hand thrown soulknife (1d4) [edited]
If for my main attack, I choose to manifest and throw the soul knife, do I get to remanifest another soul knife for my second attack? I'm suggesting a scenarios
Main action: 2 x thrown soulknife attacks(1d6)
Bonus action: 1x off hand thrown soulknife (1d4) [edited]
RAW, it seems ambiguous
Raw is not written with multiclassing in mind much. And it's sadly not ambiguous. It does not say that you get to summon a knife for each attack in an attack action. Only that you get to summon it for the overall Attack Action. So unfortunately you do not get 3 thrown soulknife attacks.
If for my main attack, I choose to manifest and throw the soul knife, do I get to remanifest another soul knife for my second attack? I'm suggesting a scenarios
Main action: 2 x thrown soulknife attacks(1d6)
Bonus action: 1x off hand thrown soulknife (1d4) [edited]
RAW, it seems ambiguous
Raw is not written with multiclassing in mind much. And it's sadly not ambiguous. It does not say that you get to summon a knife for each attack in an attack action. Only that you get to summon it for the overall Attack Action. So unfortunately you do not get 3 thrown soulknife attacks.
Using the same battlemaster 5/Soulknife 3 combo, would you say you could attack with a weapon in your hand, manifest the psychic blade, then BA psychic blade again?
If for my main attack, I choose to manifest and throw the soul knife, do I get to remanifest another soul knife for my second attack? I'm suggesting a scenarios
Main action: 2 x thrown soulknife attacks(1d6)
Bonus action: 1x off hand thrown soulknife (1d4) [edited]
RAW, it seems ambiguous
Raw is not written with multiclassing in mind much. And it's sadly not ambiguous. It does not say that you get to summon a knife for each attack in an attack action. Only that you get to summon it for the overall Attack Action. So unfortunately you do not get 3 thrown soulknife attacks.
Using the same battlemaster 5/Soulknife 3 combo, would you say you could attack with a weapon in your hand, manifest the psychic blade, then BA psychic blade again?
I would say yes, but the RAW is no. The blade disappears after the attack preventing you from using normal two weapon fighting. The psychic blade specific BA requires you to use the hand that you didn't use to attack with the psychic blade the first time. If you get the dual wielder feat you could attack with the weapon, attack with the psychic blade, BA with the weapon, the feat being required because the psychic blade isn't technically a light weapon.
But OP's a level five fighter, so they're not relying on two weapon fighting, they just get two attacks if they takes the attack action. So what if they hold a handaxe in one hand, take the attack action to summon a soul knife in the other but still make the first thrown attack with the handaxe, second attack with the soul knife, then a bonus action soul knife in the newly freed hand that held the handaxe. That should still work RAW, shouldn't it? I don't actually see how the multiclassing rules would bone them, since the second soulknife just burns the bonus action.
But OP's a level five fighter, so they're not relying on two weapon fighting, they just get two attacks if they takes the attack action. So what if they hold a handaxe in one hand, take the attack action to summon a soul knife in the other but still make the first thrown attack with the handaxe, second attack with the soul knife, then a bonus action soul knife in the newly freed hand that held the handaxe. That should still work RAW, shouldn't it? I don't actually see how the multiclassing rules would bone them, since the second soulknife just burns the bonus action.
Yea, that should work fine, I forgot this discussion was mostly about throwing attacks.
If for my main attack, I choose to manifest and throw the soul knife, do I get to remanifest another soul knife for my second attack? I'm suggesting a scenarios
Main action: 2 x thrown soulknife attacks(1d6)
Bonus action: 1x off hand thrown soulknife (1d4) [edited]
RAW, it seems ambiguous
Raw is not written with multiclassing in mind much. And it's sadly not ambiguous. It does not say that you get to summon a knife for each attack in an attack action. Only that you get to summon it for the overall Attack Action. So unfortunately you do not get 3 thrown soulknife attacks.
Using the same battlemaster 5/Soulknife 3 combo, would you say you could attack with a weapon in your hand, manifest the psychic blade, then BA psychic blade again?
I would say yes, but the RAW is no. The blade disappears after the attack preventing you from using normal two weapon fighting. The psychic blade specific BA requires you to use the hand that you didn't use to attack with the psychic blade the first time. If you get the dual wielder feat you could attack with the weapon, attack with the psychic blade, BA with the weapon, the feat being required because the psychic blade isn't technically a light weapon.
Similar question, non-throwing attack. Same 5/3 split, attack action with wielded weapon, say a longsword; stow the weapon with free action, utilize second attack for psychic blades, weapon disappears allowing BA attack with psychic blades. Is this legal by RAW?
No two weapons at any time, attack action can be split by other character choices, i.e. movement, so in theory extra attack can work with psychic blades, just not to give the additional attack to the psychic blades.
Similar question, non-throwing attack. Same 5/3 split, attack action with wielded weapon, say a longsword; stow the weapon with free action, utilize second attack for psychic blades, weapon disappears allowing BA attack with psychic blades. Is this legal by RAW?
No two weapons at any time, attack action can be split by other character choices, i.e. movement, so in theory extra attack can work with psychic blades, just not to give the additional attack to the psychic blades.
Should be fine as long as both hands are free once you stow the weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Say I have a battlemaster5/soulknife3.
If for my main attack, I choose to manifest and throw the soul knife, do I get to remanifest another soul knife for my second attack? I'm suggesting a scenarios
Main action: 2 x thrown soulknife attacks(1d6)
Bonus action: 1x off hand thrown soulknife (1d4) [edited]
RAW, it seems ambiguous
Right.. typo on the bonus attack damage
Raw is not written with multiclassing in mind much. And it's sadly not ambiguous. It does not say that you get to summon a knife for each attack in an attack action. Only that you get to summon it for the overall Attack Action. So unfortunately you do not get 3 thrown soulknife attacks.
Using the same battlemaster 5/Soulknife 3 combo, would you say you could attack with a weapon in your hand, manifest the psychic blade, then BA psychic blade again?
I would say yes, but the RAW is no. The blade disappears after the attack preventing you from using normal two weapon fighting. The psychic blade specific BA requires you to use the hand that you didn't use to attack with the psychic blade the first time. If you get the dual wielder feat you could attack with the weapon, attack with the psychic blade, BA with the weapon, the feat being required because the psychic blade isn't technically a light weapon.
But OP's a level five fighter, so they're not relying on two weapon fighting, they just get two attacks if they takes the attack action. So what if they hold a handaxe in one hand, take the attack action to summon a soul knife in the other but still make the first thrown attack with the handaxe, second attack with the soul knife, then a bonus action soul knife in the newly freed hand that held the handaxe. That should still work RAW, shouldn't it? I don't actually see how the multiclassing rules would bone them, since the second soulknife just burns the bonus action.
Yea, that should work fine, I forgot this discussion was mostly about throwing attacks.
Similar question, non-throwing attack. Same 5/3 split, attack action with wielded weapon, say a longsword; stow the weapon with free action, utilize second attack for psychic blades, weapon disappears allowing BA attack with psychic blades. Is this legal by RAW?
No two weapons at any time, attack action can be split by other character choices, i.e. movement, so in theory extra attack can work with psychic blades, just not to give the additional attack to the psychic blades.
Should be fine as long as both hands are free once you stow the weapon.