Rules As Written it isn't allowed; the feature doesn't say you know the spell, only that you can cast it. At the same time, classes (and sub-classes) with the Spellcasting feature can normally only cast spells that belong to that class/sub-class, so a Wizard can only normally cast Wizard spells, even if they somehow gain a spell from another class, but Drow Magic does not belong to a class.
This differs from Magic Initiate where you could learn more Wizard spells for a Wizard (or Arcane Trickster/Eldritch Knight) character, and since these are spells of the type you can cast using Spellcasting, you can technically cast them using your spell slots as well. However for that feat in particular it only works if the class is a match for yours, whereas newer feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched explicitly allow you to cast the spells they give you using slots that you have (regardless of your class), though D&D Beyond doesn't currently support either form (you have to mark off slots yourself).
Anyway, bit of a long way to say that by RAW you can't do this.
However, on the other hand you can just ask your DM; Arcane Tricksters don't have loads of spell slots, so allowing you to cast Faerie Fire won't be OP, especially since it takes an action (meaning you can't combo it with sneak attack in the same turn, it needs to be setup first), personally I'd allow it, but it would be a houserule.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I dont think a Drow Arcane Trickster Rogue can use spell slot for fairie fire as it's not one of its spell as Drow Magic doesn't say you know these spells, only the cantrip.
No you cannot as other said. But racial spells are still really good to have on a 3rd caster (Arcane Trickster/Eldritch Knight), because spell and spell slot progress is sooooooo slow. I see the extra spells (if they're decent) as precious extra spell lots.
Important Caveat: as Freman said, the spell save DC is based on your Charisma, which I'm guessing isn't terribly high on an Arcane Trickster. This diminishes the effectiveness and value of the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a Drow Arcane Trickster Rogue, and I note his 1st level racial spell Farie Fire is 1/LR.
Since at lvl 4 I have other 1st level slots, can I not use those to cast my innate ability more than once?
I recognise the AT is an OG Class from the PHB and thinking about innate vs arcane abilities may have developed since it's inception.
I feel like this ought to be allowable - but is it?
Rules As Written it isn't allowed; the feature doesn't say you know the spell, only that you can cast it. At the same time, classes (and sub-classes) with the Spellcasting feature can normally only cast spells that belong to that class/sub-class, so a Wizard can only normally cast Wizard spells, even if they somehow gain a spell from another class, but Drow Magic does not belong to a class.
This differs from Magic Initiate where you could learn more Wizard spells for a Wizard (or Arcane Trickster/Eldritch Knight) character, and since these are spells of the type you can cast using Spellcasting, you can technically cast them using your spell slots as well. However for that feat in particular it only works if the class is a match for yours, whereas newer feats like Fey Touched and Shadow Touched explicitly allow you to cast the spells they give you using slots that you have (regardless of your class), though D&D Beyond doesn't currently support either form (you have to mark off slots yourself).
Anyway, bit of a long way to say that by RAW you can't do this.
However, on the other hand you can just ask your DM; Arcane Tricksters don't have loads of spell slots, so allowing you to cast Faerie Fire won't be OP, especially since it takes an action (meaning you can't combo it with sneak attack in the same turn, it needs to be setup first), personally I'd allow it, but it would be a houserule.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I dont think a Drow Arcane Trickster Rogue can use spell slot for fairie fire as it's not one of its spell as Drow Magic doesn't say you know these spells, only the cantrip.
No, and also remember that as it's a Drow racial spell its DC is set from your charisma not your intelligence.
No you cannot as other said. But racial spells are still really good to have on a 3rd caster (Arcane Trickster/Eldritch Knight), because spell and spell slot progress is sooooooo slow. I see the extra spells (if they're decent) as precious extra spell lots.
Important Caveat: as Freman said, the spell save DC is based on your Charisma, which I'm guessing isn't terribly high on an Arcane Trickster. This diminishes the effectiveness and value of the spell.