Does Evocation Wizard's Empowered Evocation damage bonus apply to each roll you make with Scorching Ray (or similar spell with multiple damage instances)?
I would think that with magic missile, the bonus would only apply to one missile if you target multiple creatures with it.
That would be a "common sense" house rule, but by RAW, and confirmed via SageAdvice, Magic Missile behaves abnormally. As with anything, if it becomes a problem, the DM can compensate for it.
I would think that with magic missile, the bonus would only apply to one missile if you target multiple creatures with it.
Magic missile is (supposed to be) weird. It (is supposed to say it) uses 1 damage roll for each dart (and it kind of does if you scrutinize it really hard or not at all).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does Evocation Wizard's Empowered Evocation damage bonus apply to each roll you make with Scorching Ray (or similar spell with multiple damage instances)?
Empowered evocation works with 1 damage roll per spell.
Scorching ray rolls separate damage for each ray.
Fireball or magic missile only roll once.
I would think that with magic missile, the bonus would only apply to one missile if you target multiple creatures with it.
That would be a "common sense" house rule, but by RAW, and confirmed via SageAdvice, Magic Missile behaves abnormally. As with anything, if it becomes a problem, the DM can compensate for it.
Magic missile is (supposed to be) weird. It (is supposed to say it) uses 1 damage roll for each dart (and it kind of does if you scrutinize it really hard or not at all).