Will the 2 targets of the Shocking Grasps melee spell attack suffer the extra damage xD6 damage of the Absorb Element spell given that the Shocking grasp is cast on the next turn and is a melee attack as described in the Absorb Element spell?
No, it would only be the “first” attack roll you make, as far as I read it. Though they happen simultaneously, rules don’t tend to deal in “real time” but in what rolls first.
Edit/correction: the first damage roll if and when you hit
When you twin an attack spell, you make separate attack rolls for both targets. Therefore, once one of the attack rolls hits, the extra damage is applied to that target and absorb elements has run its course.
No, it would only be the “first” attack roll you make, as far as I read it. Though they happen simultaneously, rules don’t tend to deal in “real time” but in what rolls first.
Don't forget that it is the "first" attack that hits - not just the first attack roll :-)
No, it would only be the “first” attack roll you make, as far as I read it. Though they happen simultaneously, rules don’t tend to deal in “real time” but in what rolls first.
Don't forget that it is the "first" attack that hits - not just the first attack roll :-)
I mean, it is a damage roll. I didn't think that hitting with the attack needed to be pointed out.
No, it would only be the “first” attack roll you make, as far as I read it. Though they happen simultaneously, rules don’t tend to deal in “real time” but in what rolls first.
Don't forget that it is the "first" attack that hits - not just the first attack roll :-)
I mean, it is a damage roll. I didn't think that hitting with the attack needed to be pointed out.
Farling was correcting Cynical for saying "first attack roll." You are right that it is first damage roll, which of course does require the attack to hit.
The reason it is worth correcting is because saying it applies on the first "attack" and not the first "hit" implies that if you miss the first attack, the effect fails.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Will the 2 targets of the Shocking Grasps melee spell attack suffer the extra damage xD6 damage of the Absorb Element spell given that the Shocking grasp is cast on the next turn and is a melee attack as described in the Absorb Element spell?
No, it would only be the “first” attack roll you make, as far as I read it. Though they happen simultaneously, rules don’t tend to deal in “real time” but in what rolls first.
Edit/correction: the first damage roll if and when you hit
When you twin an attack spell, you make separate attack rolls for both targets. Therefore, once one of the attack rolls hits, the extra damage is applied to that target and absorb elements has run its course.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Yeah, simultaneous attacks are made 1 at a time. It is why eldritch blast is so good.
Don't forget that it is the "first" attack that hits - not just the first attack roll :-)
I mean, it is a damage roll. I didn't think that hitting with the attack needed to be pointed out.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Farling was correcting Cynical for saying "first attack roll." You are right that it is first damage roll, which of course does require the attack to hit.
The reason it is worth correcting is because saying it applies on the first "attack" and not the first "hit" implies that if you miss the first attack, the effect fails.