I disagree, it absolutely is an attack. Not all attacks require a to-hit roll. Part of hellish rebuke is being able to see a target, and literally point their finger at it (the somatic component). It is an active decision to attack a target, wish a spell. Hence the specific wording in mirror image, which would force a d20 to see if an image is targeted instead as EVERYTIHING the player does is copied and indiscernable from the caster.
I disagree, it absolutely is an attack. Not all attacks require a to-hit roll. Part of hellish rebuke is being able to see a target, and literally point their finger at it (the somatic component). It is an active decision to attack a target, wish a spell. Hence the specific wording in mirror image, which would force a d20 to see if an image is targeted instead as EVERYTIHING the player does is copied and indiscernable from the caster.
This is incorrect. Saves are distinct from attacks. Attacks require making an attack roll.
From the Basic Rules:
If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack
Found a really old post from JC about mirror image, unfortunately it doesn't seem to affect it, nor does Magic missile..... I still find it odd given the wording but meh.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Question 1) Is Hellish Rebuke an attack?
I think not because it requires a save roll and not an attack roll.
Scenario: Creature A has cast Mirror Image and on its next turn does damage to creature B.
Creature B reacts with Hellish rebuke.
Question 2) Does creature A roll a d20 to determine if the Hellish Rebuke hits itself or one of the duplicates?
I think not, because the text of Mirror Image says "Each time a creature targets you with an attack during the spell’s duration, roll a d20..."
Thanks in advance for any helpful advice
You are right, Hellish Rebuke is not an attack, so Mirror Image does not have any effect on it.
Thanks for the input!!
I disagree, it absolutely is an attack. Not all attacks require a to-hit roll. Part of hellish rebuke is being able to see a target, and literally point their finger at it (the somatic component). It is an active decision to attack a target, wish a spell. Hence the specific wording in mirror image, which would force a d20 to see if an image is targeted instead as EVERYTIHING the player does is copied and indiscernable from the caster.
This is incorrect. Saves are distinct from attacks. Attacks require making an attack roll.
From the Basic Rules:
If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack
Found a really old post from JC about mirror image, unfortunately it doesn't seem to affect it, nor does Magic missile..... I still find it odd given the wording but meh.