Hello, I don`t post too often but this question have been torturing me for a couple weeks,
Does the feature Blade flourish : Slashing Flourish from the college of Swords Bard and the feature Form of Dread from the new The Undead Warlock work with each other?
What the rule says for Form of Dread is "Once during each of your turns, when you hit a creature with an attack roll, you can force it to make a Wisdom saving throw, and if the saving throw fails, the target is frightened of you until the end of your next turn"
Would the slashing effect from the flourish be considered part of the original attack or as an after effect as it state "if a weapon attack that you make as part of this action hits a creature, you can use one of the following Blade Flourish options of your choice}{You can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to cause the weapon to deal extra damage to the target you hit and to any other creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of you. The damage equals the number you roll on the Bardic Inspiration die."
Again I may be looking a bit too much into that but thank you in advance for the replies.
Yes, if you have access to both features, you can activate them both on the same hit. Just keep in mind each feature's limitations; the Form of Dread feature is only once per round, and it must be on your turn (so you can't do it on attacks of opportunity).
Yes it will work fine. When you hit a creature, you can both force it to make a Wisdom saving throw, and possibly be frightened of you AND expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to cause the weapon to deal extra damage to the target you hit and to any other creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello, I don`t post too often but this question have been torturing me for a couple weeks,
Does the feature Blade flourish : Slashing Flourish from the college of Swords Bard and the feature Form of Dread from the new The Undead Warlock work with each other?
What the rule says for Form of Dread is "Once during each of your turns, when you hit a creature with an attack roll, you can force it to make a Wisdom saving throw, and if the saving throw fails, the target is frightened of you until the end of your next turn"
Would the slashing effect from the flourish be considered part of the original attack or as an after effect as it state "if a weapon attack that you make as part of this action hits a creature, you can use one of the following Blade Flourish options of your choice}{You can expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to cause the weapon to deal extra damage to the target you hit and to any other creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of you. The damage equals the number you roll on the Bardic Inspiration die."
Again I may be looking a bit too much into that but thank you in advance for the replies.
Yes, if you have access to both features, you can activate them both on the same hit. Just keep in mind each feature's limitations; the Form of Dread feature is only once per round, and it must be on your turn (so you can't do it on attacks of opportunity).
The secondary victims of Slashing Flourish are not the target of an Attack Roll, so they would not be subject to the effect of Form of Dread.
Slashing Flourish is essentially splash damage added to an attack, not an attack itself.
I agree with this.
Yes it will work fine. When you hit a creature, you can both force it to make a Wisdom saving throw, and possibly be frightened of you AND expend one use of your Bardic Inspiration to cause the weapon to deal extra damage to the target you hit and to any other creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of you.