I read the Sage Advise Compendiun and I has this revelation with Magic Initiate you can has a new spell and cantrips from your class and if they are the same that your spell list you can used spell slots and get the benefist of Spell Focus or Ritual, ofcourse if you has a class that learn spells and not just prepared. But, what about the Cantrip.
This is my problem, in the rules the Aasimar said
Light Bearer.
You know the Light cantrip. Charisma is your spellcasting ability for it.
So... What happen if you are a Sorcerer/Bard? I wonder if you can take benefist of has Light in their spellcasting list and guive Light the posibility of using Spellcasting Focus from their respective Spellcasting Hability
and... What happen if you are played with a Cleric/Wizard. Light only count like an Aasimar treat independent from your class, or you can used your spellcasting ability and your spellcasting focus because you know that Cantrip and is in your spellcasting list just like the Background in Ravnica?
Forgive me for my bad english and thanks for your answer.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Act only according to that maxim whereby you can, at the same time, will that it should become a universal law.
Anyone who knows the light cantrip, and has a spellcasting focus demanded by their class, can use their focus to cast the spell. If they don't they should have a component pouch. If for whatever reason they don't have either, they would need to find the specific material component.
If you are an Aasimar Cleric, then Light learned due to your race still uses Charisma but Light picked as one of your Cleric spells uses your Wisdom (and Intelligence with Wizard). If you pick light as part of the Mage Initiative feat then the spellcasting ability matches whichever caster's list you used in the feat.
(Cantrips don't ever use spell slots so not sure about that part of your post!)
There are a lot of conflicting interpretations of how spells from sources other than spellcasting interact with the spellcasting feature.
You basically just have to ask your DM what they think.
They may tell you that light does not count as a cleric (or other class) spell for you, so you can't use a focus. Or they might be like SwiftSign and say it counts as [every class that can possibly learn it]'s spell and you can follow whatever spellcasting feature that applies even if you didn't learn it from the class or its spell list.
I personally rule that a spell can only be used with a class's spellcasting feature if the spell says it is a [class] spell or you pick it from that class's spell list, or if the feature granting it says it can be cast with any spell slots, etc.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I read the Sage Advise Compendiun and I has this revelation with Magic Initiate you can has a new spell and cantrips from your class and if they are the same that your spell list you can used spell slots and get the benefist of Spell Focus or Ritual, ofcourse if you has a class that learn spells and not just prepared. But, what about the Cantrip.
This is my problem, in the rules the Aasimar said
So... What happen if you are a Sorcerer/Bard? I wonder if you can take benefist of has Light in their spellcasting list and guive Light the posibility of using Spellcasting Focus from their respective Spellcasting Hability
and... What happen if you are played with a Cleric/Wizard. Light only count like an Aasimar treat independent from your class, or you can used your spellcasting ability and your spellcasting focus because you know that Cantrip and is in your spellcasting list just like the Background in Ravnica?
Forgive me for my bad english and thanks for your answer.
Act only according to that maxim whereby you can, at the same time, will that it should become a universal law.
- Emmanuel Kant
Anyone who knows the light cantrip, and has a spellcasting focus demanded by their class, can use their focus to cast the spell. If they don't they should have a component pouch. If for whatever reason they don't have either, they would need to find the specific material component.
If you are an Aasimar Cleric, then Light learned due to your race still uses Charisma but Light picked as one of your Cleric spells uses your Wisdom (and Intelligence with Wizard). If you pick light as part of the Mage Initiative feat then the spellcasting ability matches whichever caster's list you used in the feat.
(Cantrips don't ever use spell slots so not sure about that part of your post!)
There are a lot of conflicting interpretations of how spells from sources other than spellcasting interact with the spellcasting feature.
You basically just have to ask your DM what they think.
They may tell you that light does not count as a cleric (or other class) spell for you, so you can't use a focus. Or they might be like SwiftSign and say it counts as [every class that can possibly learn it]'s spell and you can follow whatever spellcasting feature that applies even if you didn't learn it from the class or its spell list.
I personally rule that a spell can only be used with a class's spellcasting feature if the spell says it is a [class] spell or you pick it from that class's spell list, or if the feature granting it says it can be cast with any spell slots, etc.