So I was leveling my character to level 8 and wanted to pick up the Fey Touched feat. When I added the feature I was given the option to select a 1st-level spell of my choice from the divination or enchantment school. I selected Command but when I went to my character sheet it only allows me to select the single use of the spell. In the description it says that you can cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level. I'm assuming if I want to use this spell using a 1-st level spell slot I just tick the box, but my question is can I upcast the spell I learned using a spell slot higher than 1-st?
I spoke with my DM and he believes based on the language that spell slot of an appropriate level means 1-st only as there is no indicator of being able to upcast the spell (and also that DnD beyond does not show the spell at higher levels). My thought was that if a spell can be cast at a higher level you can use a slot of the appropriate level (for example, if I wanted to cast Command at a second level I could expend a 2nd-level spell slot).
Ultimately I will defer to my DM whatever ruling he decides. But if someone could offer clarity or perhaps a more concrete ruling from a an authority on these rulings I would appreciate it. This is my first post on this forum so I hope I'm asking my question in the right place (it says rules and mechanics at the top so I think the ruling on this would fit this area).
Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer!
EDIT: Unfortunately I made a typo in my title and I can't seem to fix it. I meant to type Fey not Fay.
Yes, you can cast the spell from a higher-level spell slot. Here's the rule on casting from spell slots: "When a character casts a spell, he or she expends a slot of that spell's level or higher, effectively 'filling' a slot with the spell." That's universal to all casting from spell slots.
Essentially, any spell slot of 1st-level or higher is "of the appropriate level."
Thanks for the replies. I spoke with my DM again and after looking at this thread and doing some of his own research he pretty much agrees. Thanks for the help!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I was leveling my character to level 8 and wanted to pick up the Fey Touched feat. When I added the feature I was given the option to select a 1st-level spell of my choice from the divination or enchantment school. I selected Command but when I went to my character sheet it only allows me to select the single use of the spell. In the description it says that you can cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level. I'm assuming if I want to use this spell using a 1-st level spell slot I just tick the box, but my question is can I upcast the spell I learned using a spell slot higher than 1-st?
I spoke with my DM and he believes based on the language that spell slot of an appropriate level means 1-st only as there is no indicator of being able to upcast the spell (and also that DnD beyond does not show the spell at higher levels). My thought was that if a spell can be cast at a higher level you can use a slot of the appropriate level (for example, if I wanted to cast Command at a second level I could expend a 2nd-level spell slot).
Ultimately I will defer to my DM whatever ruling he decides. But if someone could offer clarity or perhaps a more concrete ruling from a an authority on these rulings I would appreciate it. This is my first post on this forum so I hope I'm asking my question in the right place (it says rules and mechanics at the top so I think the ruling on this would fit this area).
Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer!
EDIT: Unfortunately I made a typo in my title and I can't seem to fix it. I meant to type Fey not Fay.
Yes, you can cast the spell from a higher-level spell slot. Here's the rule on casting from spell slots: "When a character casts a spell, he or she expends a slot of that spell's level or higher, effectively 'filling' a slot with the spell." That's universal to all casting from spell slots.
Essentially, any spell slot of 1st-level or higher is "of the appropriate level."
Just because DDB can't do something doesn't mean it is against the rules. When in doubt, the rules always trump DDB.
In this case the rules say you can cast with slots and the rules also say what happens when you cast spells with higher level slots.
Thanks for the replies. I spoke with my DM again and after looking at this thread and doing some of his own research he pretty much agrees. Thanks for the help!