Going by RAW, War Magic states that you can use a bonus action to attack after casting a cantrip as an action. But if you use Bladesinger's Extra Attack feature to cast a cantrip in place of one of your attacks, you would still technically be using an action to cast a cantrip. So would this allow you to still use War Magic this way? Or do you need to be exclusively using an action to cast a cantrip in order to use War Magic?
I say it works because the wording of War Magic simply says, "Beginning at 7th level, when you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action." which you are doing even though you are taking the attack action. It never says you have to take the [Tooltip Not Found] action, although I am guessing that was not the original intention. New rules open up new options.
Yeah those in disfavor of such combo usually claim that the Cast a Spell action must be used with War Magic, but the feature doesn't specifically say so.
It never says you have to take the cast a spell action, although I am guessing that was not the original intention. New rules open up new options.
And unfortunately they rarely take enough care with their words for it to be clear if such new combos are intentional, unintentional but will be allowed or unintentional and will be stopped.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Going by RAW, War Magic states that you can use a bonus action to attack after casting a cantrip as an action. But if you use Bladesinger's Extra Attack feature to cast a cantrip in place of one of your attacks, you would still technically be using an action to cast a cantrip. So would this allow you to still use War Magic this way? Or do you need to be exclusively using an action to cast a cantrip in order to use War Magic?
Bladesinger/EK using an action to cast a cantrip as part of the Attack action can use War Magic.
I say it works because the wording of War Magic simply says, "Beginning at 7th level, when you use your action to cast a cantrip, you can make one weapon attack as a bonus action." which you are doing even though you are taking the attack action. It never says you have to take the [Tooltip Not Found] action, although I am guessing that was not the original intention. New rules open up new options.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Yeah those in disfavor of such combo usually claim that the Cast a Spell action must be used with War Magic, but the feature doesn't specifically say so.
And unfortunately they rarely take enough care with their words for it to be clear if such new combos are intentional, unintentional but will be allowed or unintentional and will be stopped.