I've been thinking about this one and I'm looking for some second opinions on this spell interaction. So, as the Find familiar spell states,
"...when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it."
This got me thinking of some interesting uses, but the one that caught me up was Glyph of Warding, and specifically the Spell Glyph option when casting,
"You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph. If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature. If the spell summons hostile creatures or creates harmful objects or traps, they appear as close as possible to the intruder and attack it. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration."
Is it even possible to do this with a familiar? Do I need to be near the Glyph when this is cast in the way, or could I be the max distance (100ft) away from the familiar? How would you rule this at your table?
I've been thinking of cool ways to set up traps inside an enemy fortress, and setting them with my familiar, but I want to make sure this is fair game before I try it. Let me know your thoughts, thanks :D
The familiar can provide the Touch range for Glyph of Warding if within 100 ft, but you would only be able to use the explosive effect or a store spell with a range of touch.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey folks,
I've been thinking about this one and I'm looking for some second opinions on this spell interaction. So, as the Find familiar spell states,
"...when you cast a spell with a range of touch, your familiar can deliver the spell as if it had cast the spell. Your familiar must be within 100 feet of you, and it must use its reaction to deliver the spell when you cast it."
This got me thinking of some interesting uses, but the one that caught me up was Glyph of Warding, and specifically the Spell Glyph option when casting,
"You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph. The spell must target a single creature or an area. The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast. If the spell has a target, it targets the creature that triggered the glyph. If the spell affects an area, the area is centered on that creature. If the spell summons hostile creatures or creates harmful objects or traps, they appear as close as possible to the intruder and attack it. If the spell requires concentration, it lasts until the end of its full duration."
Is it even possible to do this with a familiar? Do I need to be near the Glyph when this is cast in the way, or could I be the max distance (100ft) away from the familiar? How would you rule this at your table?
I've been thinking of cool ways to set up traps inside an enemy fortress, and setting them with my familiar, but I want to make sure this is fair game before I try it. Let me know your thoughts, thanks :D
The familiar can provide the Touch range for Glyph of Warding if within 100 ft, but you would only be able to use the explosive effect or a store spell with a range of touch.