If I use wish to cast counterspell. This would be a reaction casting time spell cast as a bonus action. What would that do?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
If you cast wish you will need a action to do it so. Since there's no spell that can trigger and be affected by a counterspell in your turn, so you just expend a 9th spell slot with a counternothing.
Maybe you can ready the wish to duplicate counterspell when it actually have a triggerin spell to be countered. But it will have a true porpouse on doing it only if counterspell isn't one in your spell list. And in that case (at the discretion of the DM) you can just wish that counterspell were add to your spell list.
Edit: So the only two ways I can figure that wish spell effectively duplicate counterspell: or you ready it to cast reacting to a spell being cast, or you cast as an action within your turn in response to a spell cast also within your turn (like a reaction from a foe)
Edit: unless you readied the spell, so the it would be a reaction.
not sure why you would want to cast a 9th level wish to counterspell, but I guess a situation could come up.
Yeah, you can ready other spells that have a casting time of 1 action, so, no reason you couldn't also ready Wish. "You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components." That seems to be a catch-all to ensure you can simply cast any spell (8th or lower).
I agree that, yeah, seems like an extreme edge case to end up in a situation where this would be necessary. But, sure. It could be done.
If nothing met the conditions of your trigger before your next turn, you'd lose the spell (and spell slot). And, yeah, seems like it would be an extreme edge case to end up using a Wish like this. But, it can be done.
A caster that valued counterspell to the extent that might warrant a conversation about using wish to cast counterspell, would likely already have counterspell prepared and ready to be used in anything up to the 9th level slot available for wish.
In the case of a wizard that had made a mistake of not preparing counterspell prior to an oncoming conflict with an enemy caster, I think I'd be happy to homebrew that wish could be used to hold, with concentration, an 8th level counterspell ready for use if an opportunity presented itself.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If I use wish to cast counterspell. This would be a reaction casting time spell cast as a bonus action. What would that do?
Pronouns: he/him/his.
My posting scheduled is irregular: sometimes I can post twice a week, sometimes twice a day. I may also respond to quick questions, but ignore harder responses in favor of time.
My location is where my character for my home game is (we're doing the wild beyond the witchlight).
"The Doomvault... Probably full of unicorns and rainbows." -An imaginary quote
Wish has a casting time of 1 action so I don’t think you can cast counterspell and it be useful to you since it would be too late.
Edit: unless you readied the spell, so the it would be a reaction.
not sure why you would want to cast a 9th level wish to counterspell, but I guess a situation could come up.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
If you cast wish you will need a action to do it so. Since there's no spell that can trigger and be affected by a counterspell in your turn, so you just expend a 9th spell slot with a counternothing.
Maybe you can ready the wish to duplicate counterspell when it actually have a triggerin spell to be countered. But it will have a true porpouse on doing it only if counterspell isn't one in your spell list. And in that case (at the discretion of the DM) you can just wish that counterspell were add to your spell list.
Edit: So the only two ways I can figure that wish spell effectively duplicate counterspell: or you ready it to cast reacting to a spell being cast, or you cast as an action within your turn in response to a spell cast also within your turn (like a reaction from a foe)
Yeah, you can ready other spells that have a casting time of 1 action, so, no reason you couldn't also ready Wish. "You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components." That seems to be a catch-all to ensure you can simply cast any spell (8th or lower).
I agree that, yeah, seems like an extreme edge case to end up in a situation where this would be necessary. But, sure. It could be done.
If nothing met the conditions of your trigger before your next turn, you'd lose the spell (and spell slot). And, yeah, seems like it would be an extreme edge case to end up using a Wish like this. But, it can be done.
A caster that valued counterspell to the extent that might warrant a conversation about using wish to cast counterspell, would likely already have counterspell prepared and ready to be used in anything up to the 9th level slot available for wish.
In the case of a wizard that had made a mistake of not preparing counterspell prior to an oncoming conflict with an enemy caster, I think I'd be happy to homebrew that wish could be used to hold, with concentration, an 8th level counterspell ready for use if an opportunity presented itself.