My chain warlock was scouting a group of birds in the sky, using the familiars senses, saw they were harpies and they started singing. So how would this work with my elf warlock(advantage on charm rolls) is technically blind and deaf while using familiar senses. The familiar is a sprite so no resistances.
1. Do I have to roll since I am deaf and cannot hear?
2. If my sprite fails her save is she charmed or am I charmed?
3. If she is charmed does that automatically boot me out of her senses?
2/3. The sprite familiar does not have to roll because it is not a humanoid or giant. Of that I am certain.
1 is a bit more complicated. Your elf is within the 300 feet range (I assume, since you don't mention voice of the chain master invocation) and can hear the song through the familiar's senses. I'd say that means you make the save (using your own save bonus and with advantage for being an elf).
My chain warlock was scouting a group of birds in the sky, using the familiars senses, saw they were harpies and they started singing. So how would this work with my elf warlock(advantage on charm rolls) is technically blind and deaf while using familiar senses. The familiar is a sprite so no resistances.
1. Do I have to roll since I am deaf and cannot hear?
2. If my sprite fails her save is she charmed or am I charmed?
3. If she is charmed does that automatically boot me out of her senses?
You can absolutely hear while using your familiar's senses. The exact text is "Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar's eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn, gaining the benefits of any special senses that the familiar has. During this time, you are deaf and blind with regard to your own senses." (emphasis mine)
Per the rules of a harpy, if you are within 300 feet of the harpy when you hear its song due to the familiar's senses, you must roll the save. If you are not, you must not roll the save.
Other than that, DJC nailed it. Your sprite is not a humanoid or giant.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My chain warlock was scouting a group of birds in the sky, using the familiars senses, saw they were harpies and they started singing. So how would this work with my elf warlock(advantage on charm rolls) is technically blind and deaf while using familiar senses. The familiar is a sprite so no resistances.
1. Do I have to roll since I am deaf and cannot hear?
2. If my sprite fails her save is she charmed or am I charmed?
3. If she is charmed does that automatically boot me out of her senses?
First off, a link to relevant rules: harpy and find familiar
2/3. The sprite familiar does not have to roll because it is not a humanoid or giant. Of that I am certain.
1 is a bit more complicated. Your elf is within the 300 feet range (I assume, since you don't mention voice of the chain master invocation) and can hear the song through the familiar's senses. I'd say that means you make the save (using your own save bonus and with advantage for being an elf).
You can absolutely hear while using your familiar's senses. The exact text is "Additionally, as an action, you can see through your familiar's eyes and hear what it hears until the start of your next turn, gaining the benefits of any special senses that the familiar has. During this time, you are deaf and blind with regard to your own senses." (emphasis mine)
Per the rules of a harpy, if you are within 300 feet of the harpy when you hear its song due to the familiar's senses, you must roll the save. If you are not, you must not roll the save.
Other than that, DJC nailed it. Your sprite is not a humanoid or giant.