I realize it's not a spell, but since it is healing and magic in nature, could you use Healing Light as a bonus action with Cure Light Wounds as an action?
A very common technique is to use a bonus action spell in the same round you use a non-spell action, such as a wand, scroll, or other magic item activation. Even if it duplicates a spell, it is not a spell.
A very common technique is to use a bonus action spell in the same round you use a non-spell action, such as a wand, scroll, or other magic item activation. Even if it duplicates a spell, it is not a spell.
This is valid for an item that actually isn't a spell, but such items are incredibly rare among scrolls - almost all of them involve actual spells being actually cast.
For example, a spell scroll of any level (0-9) will have you actually, genuinely cast the spell. A scroll of protection from elementals, on the other hand, doesn't. But almost all magical scrolls are spell scrolls.
Wands are more varied and arbitrary. A wand of fireballs has you actually cast the actual fireball spell. A wand of fear doesn't have you cast any spell at all. So it's super important to read the text of the item.
Using fireball as our example, here are how you know various magic items genuinely have you cast the spell or not - the general rule is to look for text that says you do, as you don't until a rule says you do:
A very common technique is to use a bonus action spell in the same round you use a non-spell action, such as a wand, scroll, or other magic item activation. Even if it duplicates a spell, it is not a spell.
As long as the item doesn't say some variation of "you cast" in its description like most scrolls, staves, and wands do...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I realize it's not a spell, but since it is healing and magic in nature, could you use Healing Light as a bonus action with Cure Light Wounds as an action?
Yes, absolutely.
The bonus action spellcasting restrictions only apply if a spell is cast as a bonus action. You said it yourself, Healing light is not a spell.
(Quick correction: it is just cure wounds, not "cure light wounds". But we know what you mean.)
You can also use a paladin's lay on hands and healing word in the same turn for a similar reason.
Sweet. Thanks!
A very common technique is to use a bonus action spell in the same round you use a non-spell action, such as a wand, scroll, or other magic item activation. Even if it duplicates a spell, it is not a spell.
This is valid for an item that actually isn't a spell, but such items are incredibly rare among scrolls - almost all of them involve actual spells being actually cast.
For example, a spell scroll of any level (0-9) will have you actually, genuinely cast the spell. A scroll of protection from elementals, on the other hand, doesn't. But almost all magical scrolls are spell scrolls.
Wands are more varied and arbitrary. A wand of fireballs has you actually cast the actual fireball spell. A wand of fear doesn't have you cast any spell at all. So it's super important to read the text of the item.
Using fireball as our example, here are how you know various magic items genuinely have you cast the spell or not - the general rule is to look for text that says you do, as you don't until a rule says you do:
As long as the item doesn't say some variation of "you cast" in its description like most scrolls, staves, and wands do...