No spellcasting or concentrating at all while raging. Cantrips are actually spells, just level 0 spells, so you can't cast them either. Barbarian doesn't mix well MC with any of the casters, really, due to that limitation. I've seen some argument for Druid and Wild Shape shenanigans, but in general, Barbarian and any kind of casting is a sour mix.
If you don't take damage or attack, I believe is the wording, which is important. This it so you can keep your rage going, even when the enemy flies out of your melee range. You can still throw a dagger, or axe at it, thus attacking to keep your rage going. If you had, somehow, an aura that radiated damage, that would not be sufficient to sustain rage, as it's not an "atack" per say.
See above 2 replies for Raging, what you can do and how it is kept up.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
1. Cantrips are spells (0th level) and therefore can't be cast while raging.
2. No. Rage ends at the end of your turn, not the beginning. If you rage at the end of a turn in which you haven't attacked a creature, you are still raging until the end of your next turn. However if you haven't attacked or taken damage since the beginning of your last turn before you began raging, your rage will end at the end of the turn you began raging. Sorry for the tongue twister of an explanation.
3. This is a very good question. The feature specifically asks for an attack, and saving throws therefore don't qualify (an attack generally requires an attack roll). A cantrip or leveled spell involving an attack roll would qualify. That being said, I can imagine many DMs allowing most damaging effects to trigger the feature.
Edit: Regarding the multiclass, spells with a duration that do not require concentration (e.g. Armor of Agathys or Sanctuary) could work. Other spells would not fare as well in combat while raging.
I'm almost certain these have been answered somewhere, but I'm new here and wanted to get straight to answers.
While raging, you cant cast spells or concentrate on spells. Are you able to use cantrips?
If you don't cause or take damage on your turn, then use your rage as a bonus action is that rage lost at the start of your next turn?
If you cause damage with a spell/cantrip/aoe effect, does that keep your rage going as apposed to hitting someone with a melee weapon?
No. As others mentioned, cantrips are still spells.
No, it would end at the end of the turn if you haven't attacked or taken damage since the end of your last turn.
Yes, as long as you made an attack or took damage. A spell attack works. AOEs are not attacks, but if you are dealt damage by your own spell, that's still damage.
Question 3 is a moot point since you can't cast spells when raging...
It is valid for the turn you Rage. Since you can cast a spell before you Rage, if that spell requires a attack roll it fulfills the criteria of keeping Rage up past that round.
Question 3 is a moot point since you can't cast spells when raging...
It is valid for the turn you Rage. Since you can cast a spell before you Rage, if that spell requires a attack roll it fulfills the criteria of keeping Rage up past that round.
No, since you have to rage after you cast the the spell which means that you have until the end of the next turn to attack or take damage.
Question 3 is a moot point since you can't cast spells when raging...
It is valid for the turn you Rage. Since you can cast a spell before you Rage, if that spell requires a attack roll it fulfills the criteria of keeping Rage up past that round.
No, since you have to rage after you cast the the spell which means that you have until the end of the next turn to attack or take damage.
I do not get what you are trying to argue or are you just trying to aggressively agree with me that casting a attack roll spell before you Rage keeps the Rage going?
No, since you have to rage after you cast the the spell which means that you have until the end of the next turn to attack or take damage.
No, that's not how it works. The conditions that can end your Rage are present on the turn you enter your Rage too. So it is possible (if you choose a bad time for it) to use a bonus action to enter the Rage and then end the turn and directly loose your Rage.
No, since you have to rage after you cast the the spell which means that you have until the end of the next turn to attack or take damage.
No, that's not how it works. The conditions that can end your Rage are present on the turn you enter your Rage too. So it is possible (if you choose a bad time for it) to use a bonus action to enter the Rage and then end the turn and directly loose your Rage.
"Last turn" implies that the first turn is "free" so to speak.
The trick with a Rage caster is to cast non-concentration spells before you engage in combat, utility spells out of combat, or post combat recovery spells (cure etc).
Basically, you do minor buffs. Most people talk about Armor of Agathys as the main spell a barbarian would like, but there are a couple of others.
I'm almost certain these have been answered somewhere, but I'm new here and wanted to get straight to answers.
While raging, you cant cast spells or concentrate on spells. Are you able to use cantrips?
If you don't cause or take damage on your turn, then use your rage as a bonus action is that rage lost at the start of your next turn?
If you cause damage with a spell/cantrip/aoe effect, does that keep your rage going as apposed to hitting someone with a melee weapon?
Thanks much! Thinking of trying a Barbarian/Warlock.
No spellcasting or concentrating at all while raging. Cantrips are actually spells, just level 0 spells, so you can't cast them either. Barbarian doesn't mix well MC with any of the casters, really, due to that limitation. I've seen some argument for Druid and Wild Shape shenanigans, but in general, Barbarian and any kind of casting is a sour mix.
If you don't take damage or attack, I believe is the wording, which is important. This it so you can keep your rage going, even when the enemy flies out of your melee range. You can still throw a dagger, or axe at it, thus attacking to keep your rage going. If you had, somehow, an aura that radiated damage, that would not be sufficient to sustain rage, as it's not an "atack" per say.
See above 2 replies for Raging, what you can do and how it is kept up.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
1. Cantrips are spells (0th level) and therefore can't be cast while raging.
2. No. Rage ends at the end of your turn, not the beginning. If you rage at the end of a turn in which you haven't attacked a creature, you are still raging until the end of your next turn. However if you haven't attacked or taken damage since the beginning of your last turn before you began raging, your rage will end at the end of the turn you began raging. Sorry for the tongue twister of an explanation.
3. This is a very good question. The feature specifically asks for an attack, and saving throws therefore don't qualify (an attack generally requires an attack roll). A cantrip or leveled spell involving an attack roll would qualify. That being said, I can imagine many DMs allowing most damaging effects to trigger the feature.
Edit: Regarding the multiclass, spells with a duration that do not require concentration (e.g. Armor of Agathys or Sanctuary) could work. Other spells would not fare as well in combat while raging.
Question 3 is a moot point since you can't cast spells when raging...
It is valid for the turn you Rage. Since you can cast a spell before you Rage, if that spell requires a attack roll it fulfills the criteria of keeping Rage up past that round.
No, since you have to rage after you cast the the spell which means that you have until the end of the next turn to attack or take damage.
I do not get what you are trying to argue or are you just trying to aggressively agree with me that casting a attack roll spell before you Rage keeps the Rage going?
No, that's not how it works. The conditions that can end your Rage are present on the turn you enter your Rage too. So it is possible (if you choose a bad time for it) to use a bonus action to enter the Rage and then end the turn and directly loose your Rage.
"Last turn" implies that the first turn is "free" so to speak.
The trick with a Rage caster is to cast non-concentration spells before you engage in combat, utility spells out of combat, or post combat recovery spells (cure etc).
Basically, you do minor buffs. Most people talk about Armor of Agathys as the main spell a barbarian would like, but there are a couple of others.
I see no such implication.