Both can be used as quarterstaves, but neither can be used as the other by RAW. If you have a multiclassed druid/wizard, ask your DM to make sure they’re okay with you doubling up like that. Technically not within the rules, but it’s an extremely reasonable allowance.
As a DM, I might allow a druid/wizard multiclassed character to use one for both, with the caveat that the PC must use an action or two to convert said staff from one use to the other. It would depend on the player, though. I wouldn’t allow it for someone who had a history of power gaming or rules exploitation. My current wizard player, who is brand-new to D&D, however, I would allow to use the conversion action idea.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I live with several severe autoimmune conditions. If I don’t get back to you right away, it’s probably because I’m not feeling well.
So is the Wooden Staff being able to be used as a Quarterstaff smeplace in RAW?
The DMG, "Treasure" chapter, section on "Staffs," "Unless a staff’s description says otherwise, a staff can be used as a quarterstaff."
Note: some people interpret that as only applying to magic staves, like "staff of power" or whatever, not to basic focuses. That seems myopic to me. (There's also some old tweets or other communications from designers saying it applies to basic staves, too.)
Would a Druidic Focus "Wooden Staff" also work as an Arcane Focus "Staff"?
"Staff" the Arcane Focus also can be used as a Quarterstaff, could the Druidic Focus "Wooden Staff" be used as one too?
All me Hombews:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1WUnYn1tRvbkKOPpAkWOVlpe2S3JVLpV_LDOVzKG2DgQ/edit?usp=drivesdk
I don’t see why not.
Both can be used as quarterstaves, but neither can be used as the other by RAW. If you have a multiclassed druid/wizard, ask your DM to make sure they’re okay with you doubling up like that. Technically not within the rules, but it’s an extremely reasonable allowance.
Sure can!
I don't see why that wouldn't work, but Saga is right about it not being explicitly allowed.
I'd allow it, your DM might as well.
As a DM, I might allow a druid/wizard multiclassed character to use one for both, with the caveat that the PC must use an action or two to convert said staff from one use to the other. It would depend on the player, though. I wouldn’t allow it for someone who had a history of power gaming or rules exploitation. My current wizard player, who is brand-new to D&D, however, I would allow to use the conversion action idea.
I live with several severe autoimmune conditions. If I don’t get back to you right away, it’s probably because I’m not feeling well.
So is the Wooden Staff being able to be used as a Quarterstaff smeplace in RAW?
All me Hombews:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1WUnYn1tRvbkKOPpAkWOVlpe2S3JVLpV_LDOVzKG2DgQ/edit?usp=drivesdk
The DMG, "Treasure" chapter, section on "Staffs," "Unless a staff’s description says otherwise, a staff can be used as a quarterstaff."
Note: some people interpret that as only applying to magic staves, like "staff of power" or whatever, not to basic focuses. That seems myopic to me. (There's also some old tweets or other communications from designers saying it applies to basic staves, too.)